It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In January 2020, St. Thomas Libraries transitioned from SciFinder to SciFinder-n. SciFinder-n provides many of the same search capabilities as SciFinder with a new search interface. This guide is intended to introduce users to the SciFinder-n platform.
Transitioning from SciFinder to SciFinderⁿ
If you already have a SciFinder account, you will be able to log in to SciFinderⁿ via the new platform and do not need to set up a new account.If you are new to SciFInder, see the Registration page for instructions on setting up an account. Use the link below to access SciFinderⁿ.
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature.
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).
SciFinder-n provides access to a variety of different sources of chemical information. Here are a few of the features you may find helpful:
Structure Searching - Draw or upload structures to perform exact, substructure, or similarity searches
Substance Searching - Find chemical information by keyword CAS registry numbers, or patent number.
PDF with a quick overview of new features to SciFinder-n.
Databases Included in SciFinder-n
CAPlus - bibliographic entries from Chemical Abstracts back to 1907. Over 1,500 core chemical journals are included, as well as patents, books, conference procedings, etc. Link out to Find It @ UT to connect to electronic full text or check for print holdings.
MEDLINE - bibliographic entries in the medical sciences back to 1949
CAS REGISTRY - Chemicals and biochemical sequences searchable by name, number, formula, or structure, with experimental and predicted property data.