Research and Course Guides: Tests and Measurements: Getting Started

Tests and Measures Introduction

It is difficult to find the actual tests that measure behavior, personality, etc. This guide should help you identify background on testing and assessment, what tests are available, and possible methods to obtain or locate tests.

There are numerous books that identify and review tests, but very few actually provide the test questions. Check out the "Finding Books" tab to identify where you can go to find these resources, along with a list of several publications that identify specific tests.

Occasionally you can find sample questions from the tests, or even the entire tests, in journal articles. Articles may also identify specific tests. Check out the "Finding Articles" tab to identify the databases which can locate articles which may include this information.

Also, the tab "Locating a Copy of a Test" will include basic information on obtaining a copy of specific tests.

LibrarySearch - Audio search

Background Information

Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment by editor-in-chief, Michel Hersen
Call Number: BF176 .C654 2004
This resource provides discussion, and bibliographies, of assessment tools. Volume 1 covers "Intellectual and Neuropsychological Assessment". Volume 2 covers "Personality Assessment". Volume 3 covers "Behavioral Assessment". volume 4 covers "Industrial and Organizational Assessment". Each volume includes subject and author indexes.

These resources provide basic information on principles, guidelines, and vocabulary on test and measurement tools. All copies of this publications are available in the UST O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library Reference Collection unless otherwise noted.

Dictionary of psychological testing, assessment and treatment by Ian Stuart-Hamilton
Call Number: Online resource
Publication Date: 2007
This dictionary defines test and assessment terms.
Encyclopedia of psychological assessment by edited by Rocío Fernández-Ballesteros
Call Number: BF176 .E53 2003
This two-volume encyclopedia includes signed articles with references and related entries. It identifies related assessment tools but does not include specific questions. Print copies are available at both the O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library and the Keffer Library.
Encyclopedia of social measurement by edited by Kimberly Leonard
Call Number: OSF Ref H62 .E53 2005
This 3-volume resource covers both quantitative and qualitative research measurement in the social sciences. It covers general topics in alphabetical order. Each article includes a glossary of terms and a bibliography for further reading.
Handbook of psychological assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat
Call Number: BF176 .G76 2009
This handbook discusses types of assessment and refers to specific tests and techniques. It includes sample reports, an extensive list of reference and author and subject indexes.