Research and Course Guides: Tests and Measurements: Finding Books

Search for Books and eBooks

LibrarySearch provides a simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. Items from St. Thomas and other regional libraries can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice. My account

Test Reviews--Electronic Resources

These databases and Web sites provide reviews to tests:

Mental Measurements Yearbook & Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Mental Measurements Yearbook describes and critically analyzes of more than 2000 commercially available standardized English-language tests: educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement, and intelligence. Evaluates tests for validity, reliability, and ease of testing. No full-text tests are included. Tests in Print (TIP) is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language.

ETS Test Collection
This resource provides an index to unpublished tests for educators and psychologists, as well as a service to provide the tests. In order to search this collection, use TestLInk, the search system for this resources.

Test Reviews--Books

Directory of unpublished experimental mental measures. by Goldman, Bert A. (Bert Arthur)
Call Number: Keffer Reference BF431 .G625
This resource provides surveys of tests not available through commercial sources.

These books provide information and reviews of tests:

Tests : a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business by edited by Taddy Maddox
Call Number: Reference BF176 .T43
ISBN: 141640340X
Publication Date: 2008
Each edition of this book is divided into three separate sections for psychology, education, and business. Each review includes description, scoring and timing information, cost and availability information, primary publisher, and author. O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library has all editions. The Keffer Library has the sixth edition.

Test Review Resources by Subject--Main Collections

Handbook of research design & social measurement by Delbert C. Miller and Neil J. Salkind
Call Number: OSF Stacks H62 .M44 2002
Available online and in print.

These resources are available in the main collections of the UST Libraries. The library location is indicated in the Call Number.

Measurement and evaluation in psychology and education by Robert M. Thorndike
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB1131 .M433 2005
The Use of psychological testing for treatment planning and outcome assessment by edited by Mark E. Maruish
Call Number: Keffer Stacks RC473.P79 U83 1994
ISBN: 0805811621
This resource review adult and child/adolescent tests. It includes information on the uses, nature and history. Keffer owns Volume one. See the next two links for Volumes two and three, which are available as E-Books.
The use of psychological testing for treatment planning and outcomes assessment. Volume 2, Instruments for children and adolescents by edited by Mark E. Maruish
Call Number: Electronic Book
The use of psychological testing for treatment planning and outcomes assessment. Volume 3, Instruments for adults by edited by Mark E. Maruish
Call Number: Electronic Book
Handbook of multicultural assessment : clinical, psychological, and educational applications by Lisa A. Suzuki and Joseph G. Ponterotto, editors
Call Number: Keffer Stacks BF176 .H36 2008
Communication research measures II : a sourcebook by edited by Rebecca B. Rubin ... [et al.].
Call Number: OSF Stacks P91.3 .C623 2009
Handbook of psychology. Assessment psychology by by Irving B. Weiner, John R. Graham, Jack A. Naglieri.
Publication Date: 2012
Assessment and Culture: Psychological tests with minority populations. by Sharon-Ann Gopaul-McNicol, Eleanor Armour-Thomas
ISBN: 0585469105
Publication Date: 2002

Test Resources with Sample Questions--Electronic Resources

These Web sites provide access to resources that include the actual tests.

Remember to check the "Finding Articles" section for databases which may also include test questions.

International Personality Item Pool
This Web site provides access to personality resources that are currently in the public domain. An excellent resource for scales as well as research references.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes
This resource, created by Helen Hough at the University of Texas at Arlington, provides a Google search for tests found in collections. Click on the link to RefWorks' RefShare Interface to search by subject or in the abstracts.

Test Resources with Sample Questions--Books

These books include the questions for many measurement tools.

Remember to check the "Finding Articles" section for databases which may also include test questions.

Measures for clinical practice and research : a sourcebook by Joel Fischer, Kevin Corcoran
Call Number: OSF Reference BF176 .C66 2007
This two-volume publication includes inforamtion on measurement use, selection and administrations, as well as samples of specific tests and measurements. Not only does this include a description and publication information for tests and scales, but it also provides the actual questions that make up part of the test. You cannot duplicate the sample tests to administer, but the questions are available for evaluation.
Handbook of family measurement techniques by edited by John Touliatos, Barry F. Perlmutter, Murray A. Straus
Call Number: HQ728 .H267 2001
This 3-volume set analyzes instruments used to study the family. Each abstract includes a description, sample items, comments, and reference. The inexes provide access by title, author, and classification (subject). Volume 3 includes many of the instruments reviewed in volumes 1 and 2.
A compendium of neuropsychological tests : administration, norms, and commentary by Otfried Spreen, Esther Strauss
Call Number: Keffer Reference RC386.6.N48 S67 2006
ISBN: 0195159578
Publication Date: 2006
A handbook to testing which includes sample tests in the field. It includes a list of references and a subject index.
Marketing scales handbook : a compilation of multi-item measures by Gordon C. Bruner II, Paul J. Hensel
Call Number: OSF Reference HF5415.3 .B785
This resource includes descriptions of the scales as well as sample questions. The first 4 volumes are available in print at the OSF Library. Keffer main collection owns Volumes 1 and 2. See individual links below for future volumes in this set which are available online.

Test Review Resources by Subject--Reference resources

Assessment of family violence : a handbook for researchers and practitioners by Eva L. Feindler, Jill H. Rathus, and Laura Beth Silver
Call Number: Electronic format and OSF Reference HV6626 .F45 2003
This handbook provides a brief overview of testing in the field, however the majority of the book includes reviews of specific tests. Occasionally one or two sample questions are included for the assessment.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database is the perfect companion for novice researchers. It provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.

InterLibrary Loan

Request books, articles, and other items not available at UST. Visit the InterLibrary Loan page for more info.

Login to Illiad:

Problems logging in?