It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Quality demographic information is important in doing business research. Organizations need to understand their customers and prospective customers in order to supply them with the right products and services, and to reach them via their preferred media. There are many resources available to help you learn about consumers and their behaviors, attitudes, and opinions.
Statista is an easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Individual statistics are usually displayed as a graph and the underlying data is downloadable in Excel. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Mintel provides market research reports covering U.S. consumer markets. Sectors covered include consumer goods, travel and tourism, retail, and financial services. The reports analyze market drivers, market sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only. Even on campus you must log in with your UST username/password.
Use SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) to create thematic maps, datasets, and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables for the U.S. Use it when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code. Create a free personal account with your UST email to save your work (check your email spam if you don't receive an activation email) or sign in as a guest. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Demographics, psychographics, product usage, spending behavior, and media habits of U.S. adult consumers, based on national consumer surveys. Use it to create your own custom reports. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
MRI University Reporter (formerly MRI+ Mediamark) contains demographic and lifestyle data along with media preferences for consumers of products and brands. Its detailed consumer product usage and media information is collected from a national sample of 25,000+ U.S. households. Does NOT work using Chrome or Safari. You must create an account using your UST email address. Restricted to UST students, faculty, and staff. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
NOTE: Only UST faculty, students, and staff can use. Walk-in users are not permitted. No ILL. To access MRI University Reporter, you must use a registration code, which you can obtain by clicking on the database link. Once you activate the database, create your own free account using your stthomas.edu e-mail address. Each user has to agree to a license that governs their own use, on top of the institutional license.
Advertising rates, circulation data, and contact information for media, including business publications, consumer magazines, digital media (websites), direct marketing, newspapers, radio, TV & cable, and out-of-home (airports, college campuses, malls, etc.) Claritas 360 lets marketers and advertisers analyze markets based on comprehensive Nielsen's consumer profiles and identify target consumer groups for their products and services (only works in Chrome.)
These handbooks focus on various consumer-related markets. Each one includes market forecasts, sector trends, and statistics. Handbooks include Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile Web; Entertainment, Media & Advertising; Healthcare Business; International Consumers; Leisure Business; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail Business; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism.
Data.Census.Gov, the portal that replaces American FactFinder, is the primary way to access U.S. Census Bureau data, including data from the American Community Survey, Population Estimates, Economic Census, and Annual Economic Surveys. Users can generate simple visualizations, extract reports, and explore census data by theme or topic.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
This resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information.
It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and includes links to
original source data to help locate related data. Earlier editions are also available.
The primary U.S. statistical agency, responsible for the decennial Census and the American Community Survey, the main sources of demographic information on the American population. Also the collector of many other statistical series, including the Economic Census, etc.