Biographies - Physics - Information Resources - Research and Course Guides at University of St. Thomas

Biographical Sources

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
55,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2003. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

A Dictionary of Scientists
Covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.
American Men and Women of Science
Profiles living persons in the physical and biological fields, as well as public health scientists, engineers, mathematicians, statisticians, and computer scientists
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Eric Weisstein's World of Biography
Can be searched by branch of science, nationality, gender or minority status, historical period, nationality, or prize won.