Background Info - Physics - Information Resources - Research and Course Guides at University of St. Thomas

Why background info?

You are assigned a research topic that you know almost nothing about, and Wikipedia isn't helping. What do you do? Find a subject encyclopedia!

Background sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) provide summary and factual information. They generally contain well-established knowledge that provide a basic understanding on subjects. Use background sources to:

find basic concepts and viewpoints of the topic
get the historical context and relationships to other topics
identify and define specialized terms used to discuss the topic
find or verify data, facts, formulas, etc.

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.

McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Philips Astronomy Encyclopedia (Oxford Reference)
Includes 3000 entries authenticated by a team of respected academics.
Dictionary of Astronomy
Covers everything from space exploration and the equipment involved, to astrophysics, cosmology, and the concept of time.
Oxford Companion to Cosmology
Subjects covered include the structure of the universe, the evolution of galaxies, galaxy clusters, and cold dark matter.
Dictionary of Physics
Covers all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry.
Dictionary of Space Exploration
This dictionary covers the fascinating world of space exploration and every aspect of the technology involved.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Offers a wealth of comprehensive and well-structured information on all facets of industrial chemistry.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of the Atomic Age by Rodney P. Carlisle, ed.
Call Number: OSF Reference QC773 .D49 2001
Brief entries on a wide range of topics related to the "atomic age".
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology by Robert A. Meyers, editor-in chief
Call Number: OSF Reference Q123 .E497 2002 (18 vols.)
In-depth articles by leading authors in the field with bibliographies at the end of each article. In 17 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Physics by Rita G. Lerner and George L. Trigg, editors
Call Number: OSF Reference QC5 .E545 2005 (2 vols.)
Third completely revised and enlarged edition provides current, precise information on both classical and recent concepts in physics.
Handbook of Physics by Walter Benenson and others
Call Number: OSF Reference QC61 .T3713 2002
The physicists' "veritable toolbox for everyday use" with easy access to important concepts, formulas, rules and theorems.

Physics - Information Resources: Background Info

Why background info?

Online Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries