Research and Course Guides: + Social Work: Books

PsycBooks

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search in PsycINFO for books, both new and classic.=, on topics of interest to Social Work. Limit your search to books and you'll find a goldmine!

APA Handbook of Community Psychology by Meg A. Bond (Editor-In-Chief); Irma García de Serrano; Christopher Keys
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
- Empowering interventions: Strategies for addressing health inequities across levels of analysis
- Social settings as loci of intervention
- Environmental degradation and sustainability: A community psychology perspective
The Cost of Racism for People of Color by Alvin N. Alvarez; Christopher T. H. Liang; Helen A. Neville
Publication Date: 2016-03-01

Sage Research Methods Foundations

Sage Research Methods Foundations This link opens in a new window
This database is the perfect companion for novice researchers. It provides bite-size, introductory overviews to all the major methods topics written by a renowned roster of methods experts, to help get you on your way. These accessible entries can help you get to the heart of the concept before you dig deeper into books or journal articles.

Social Work Research Papers

UST Research Online This link opens in a new window
Read banded dissertations and theses by former students in the DSW and MSW programs here.

LibrarySearch: research paper (M.S.W.)

If the thesis you're interested in was published before 2012, search in our catalog -- LibrarySearch in the big box on our library's homepage: https://library.stthomas.edu.

"social work research papers" AND (author's name OR subject area)

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Reference Resources

The following resources are either online or in the Reference Collection at the UST O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library. Call numbers listed are for the UST copies. Since print Reference sources must be used in the library, copiers are available.

The SAGE Handbook of Social Work by Mel Gray (Editor); Stephen A. Webb (Editor); James O. Midgley (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012
Online handbook.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: Regularly Updated
Great overview of theory, history, and research in sociology,
A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care by John Harris; Vicky White
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
This online resource covers social work and related fields of psychology, sociology, and social policy.

+ Social Work: Books

YOUR FIRST STOP

PsycBooks

Sage Research Methods Foundations

Social Work Research Papers

Oxford Handbooks Online

Reference Resources