Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Work Databases
Start your research by searching for your topic in these databases:
Social Work Abstracts
When you want the Social Work perspective.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Research on people and groups in the context of society. Its thesaurus can help you develop your search terms.
Research on individual, group, and family therapy. Perspective is more on the individual, but does include research on individuals in society.Its thesaurus can help you choose subject terms.
Sponsored by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, includes research on war-related trauma, military families, and trauma in general.
PsychiatryOnline (Including the DSM)
Access to the DSM 5 online and all the previous DSMs as well. Includes comparisons to the ICD.
Scopus includes all disciplines, Helps you follow the scholarly discussion buy linking related and more recent articles.
Other Social Science Databases
These are other databases which also include Social Work information:
Good sources for social work in schools and with children. Includes information about learning and child development, especially within the context of schools.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Full-text
Research in cxriminal justice, including policing, jails, prisons, recidivism, and prevention.
Comprehensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. All articles are full-text. Updated quarterly. 1990- .
Covers all areas of study, so especailly nice for interdiscipliary fields like Social Work. Allows you to see how more recent research answers questions posed by older research.
History and Political Science Databases
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
research on the history of the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
Research on history of everywhere in the world except the United States and Canada. From 1450 to the present.
Reports of political issues of interest, written by political scientists and journalists. Good place to look to see the history of policies