The UST Libraries has access to thousands of films - DVD and streaming.
Access to streaming films is constantly changing and it's hard to maintain records for every streaming film in LibrarySearch. When searching for a film, it's necessary to search the databases individually so that a comprehensive search is done.
The UST Libraries does maintain records for DVDs in LibrarySearch.
To search for videos:
Search results limited to DVDs and some streaming films.
Academic Video Online is a collection of streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
Digitalia Film Library (streaming video database) is a multilingual, multi-national collection of films and documentaries from Spain, France, other European countries, North America (Classic) and Latin America (especially Mexico, Cuba, Argentina and Brazil). Among the subjects included in the documentaries are archeology, history, nature, arts, and more. Note: To activate the English subtitles, click under the CC icons.
More than 2000 videos from different distributors, including Bullfrog, Women Make Movies, Icarus Films, Good Docs, Film Movement, and more. Contains documentaries in a wide range of subjects including, Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Immigration, International Studies, Race and Racism, Ethnic Studies, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
Multi-disciplinary database of streaming videos from Infobase. Provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences, world cinema, and more.
Hundreds of full-length feature films for instructional purposes. The collection focuses on current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
NOTE: Limited to classroom and personal use (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events).
Hoopla provides streaming video (movies and TV shows) and audiobooks. Popular titles and classics, fiction and nonfiction are available. For information about devices and more visit Hoopla help.
NOTE: This resource is available only to current UST students, faculty, and staff who create an account with Hoopla. It is limited to classroom/personal use and cannot be used for campus screenings/public events. Limited to 7 borrows per month.
Access to more than 10,000 titles in all subject areas. Kanopy titles not available immediately can be requested by faculty for class use or by students for research only. If you find a Kanopy video that you can't access, click the link and follow the instructions to place a request.
Lumiere is a database sponsored by the University of California, Berkeley containing clips drawn from films in 62 languages. Faculty can use clips that have already been created or create their own. Full films are available also. The clips/films can be requested only from films St. Thomas and Berkeley both currently own.
Instructions on how to use Lumiere
Note: This collection is limited to faculty only for registered courses (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events). To register an account, you must agree to post links ONLY in Canvas, where access is limited to students enrolled in your class; do NOT send links via email.
Curated collection of streaming films featuring filmmakers from underrepresented voices from around the world. It includes independent, international, and documentary films from distributors such as Grasshopper Film, MTV Documentary Films, and Canyon Cinema. Browse all the subject areas.
Swank Digital Campus allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. Watch films directly through the Swank interface or add links to Canvas for assigned viewing.
NOTE: Limited to classroom and personal use (cannot be used for campus screenings/public events).
Psychotherapy.net features diverse collections of high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, addiction, and social work. The majority of the videos show therapists, social workers and other mental health professionals conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions. Includes most major theoretical orientations, including cognitive-behavioral, psychoanalytic/psychodynamic, family systems, existential-humanistic, motivational interviewing, and many others. Most video titles include downloadable Instructor’s Manual.
Some films aren't available through library resources, but are available from streaming sources like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, and more. You can search these websites to see if the film is available.