Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Books
Use LibrarySearch to search for books. If you are looking for a title, type it in the search box. For an author, type the last name first. Limit the "St. Thomas Location" to "Keffer Library - Children's Literature Collection" on the left-sidebar. When you are looking for books on a subject, try a keyword search for the term(s) you are looking for. It often helps to add the term "juvenile" to focus the search.
If Keffer Library doesn't own a book you are looking for, broaden the search to all CLIC libraries (Bethel, Concordia, Hamline, Northwestern-St. Paul, St. Catherine's). If you find it in another library, you can request the item.. If no one in CLIC has the book, check at a local public library (if you have a library card there), or get the book details from WorldCat and request the item on Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
These subject guides and bibliographies may help you identify good books for your project. Almost all are located in the reference collection at the Keffer Library. They list more books than St. Thomas owns, so you will need to consult LibrarySearch to locate items in other libraries.
A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books, 9th ed.
Call Number: Keffer Ref Z1037 .L715 2014
Need a picture book on a specific subject? This will help. A to Zoo provides easy subject access that helps them build, enhance, and organize story time programs and reading lists, and support curricular needs. A logical subject arrangement supports quick and easy discovery of great titles.
Best Books for Children, Preschool Through Grade 6, 10th ed.
Call Number: Keffer Ref Z1037 .G48 2015
Tthis comprehensive professional resource helps teachers and media specialists identify and use the best fiction and nonfiction books published for children grades P-6. It provides helpful indexes for easy and quick access, including author/illustrator, title, and subject/grade level, and it helps teachers build reading lists based on themes and genres.
Critical Survey of Young Adult Literature
Call Number: Keffer Ref PS 490 C75 2016
This comprehensive collection provides thoughtful examination of the authors, works, genres, themes and film adaptations that have contributed to the popularity and success of the young adult genre. It includes author biographies, genre overviews, plot summaries, theme overviews, and film analysis.
Contact me for assistance
Need a specific reading level?
How do I find books for reading level 3.4 (substitute your level)? Mackin is a local company that works with schools and libraries, and has an excellent online catalog that will help you identify books at specific reading levels--also Lexile level, Accelerated Reader, or Fountas & Pinnell levels. You need to set up a free account to search their catalog (and then you will need to search CLICnet to see what books are available at Keffer or other CLIC libraries). Use the advanced search option to search for reading and interest levels.
I'm Looking for a Good Read Aloud Story
Jim Trelease's Read-Aloud Handbook, 8th ed.
Call Number: on order
The latest edition of the classic guide for teachers and parents for the BEST books to read aloud to children.