Research and Course Guides: Children's and Young Adult Literature: Award Winners

Comprehensive Award Winners Lists

Looking for Award and Honor List or "Best Of" Book lists? Explore the lists below for the popular and for the niche best of lists:

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is a searchable database of children and YA book reviews from magazines like Booklist, Kirkus, and more. Includes best book and award lists, as well as supplementary lesson plans for teachers. 1991 - present.
Teaching Books is a literacy program based in Monona, Wisconsin and contains a diverse online collection of K-12 books with author/illustrator resources.
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC): a noncirculating library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, the CCBC provides literature resources to stay up to date on new children's book publications, offers assistance with book challenges, and provides ample lists of award winners and a diverse list of "best of" titles.

Online

Book lists recommended by the below organizations are arranged around a variety of themes and topics. Many of the lists feature books for readers across ages, and the same book may be found on more than one of the lists below.

American Library Association Youth Media Awards
Major children's and young adult book awards from the American Library Association including Newbery, Coretta Scott King, Caldecott, and more.
Best Fiction for Young Adults
YALSA’s Best Fiction for Young Adults Blogging Team presents fiction titles published for young adults in the past 14 months that are recommended reading for ages 12 to 18.
Best Books for Young Adults
Search all the YALSA's selected lists narrowing by year, theme, and maturity level
Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
identifies fiction and nonfiction titles aimed at encouraging reading among teens who dislike to read for whatever reason.
Great Graphic Novels for Teens
An annual list of graphic novels and illustrated nonfiction for teens ages 13-18.
Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults
The annual list of notable audio recordings significant to young adults from those released in the past two years.
Outstanding Books for the College Bound
Updated every five years, this list offers opportunities to discover new ideas, and provide an introduction to the fascinating variety of academic subjects.
Notable Children's Books
A list of the major award winners, all in one spot. Broken down by reading level including Younger Readers, Middle Readers, Older Readers, and All Readers.
Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
This award is given to books that promote peace, social justice, world community, and gender equality.
Orbis Pictus Award (NCTE)
Award winning nonfiction books selected by the National Council of Teachers of English.
Notable Children's Books in the Language Arts (CLA/NCTE)
Winners chosen annually by the Children's Literature Assembly, affiliated with the National Council of Teachers of English.
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K-12 (NSTA)
Winners selected by members of the National Science Teacher's Association.
Carter G. Woodson Book Awards (NCSS)
National Council for Social Studies (NCSS) established the Carter G. Woodson Book Awards for the most distinguished books appropriate for young readers that depict ethnicity in the United States.