Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's Lit E-Journals
The following is a sample of electronic journals that report research in the area of children's and young adult literature; or provide reviews of new children's and young adult books.
Finding Journal Articles
Try these sources when you are looking for scholarly articles about children's literature; or are looking for research or classroom practice articles related to the use of children's or young adult literature in schools.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides information about 1.3 million items related to education, including journal articles, books, conference papers, statistical or research reports and other items. It is THE essential tool for research in education.
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Education Full Text
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
Professional Development Collection
The Professional Development Collection is a resource for researchers in education. It includes resources across a broad range of educational topics and research levels. It indexes over 700 journals, and over 500 of those are peer reviewed. About 350 of the peer reviewed titles are available in full text. Use this to supplement your research in ERIC.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A one-stop-shop resource providing access to biographies, critical analyses and reviews of authors from every age and literary discipline. It covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Finding Book Reviews
Try these sources when you are looking for reviews of a children's or young adult book. The lower part of the list includes links to several review journals.
Contact me for assistance