Research and Course Guides: Children's and Young Adult Literature: Authors & Illustrators

TeachingBooks.net

This is a five-star resource! TeachingBooks.net provides a wealth of multimedia resources on K-12 books and authors or illustrators that can be used to support reading activities for all grades and content areas. If you are on campus, use this quick search box to begin exploring these resources. If you are off campus, use the link in the next column for best access.

Introduction

Try these online or print resources when you are looking for biographical information about an author. The online resources also may have reviews or criticism of their works.

Online

Gale Literature: Something About The Author Online This link opens in a new window
This resource includes biographical profiles of the lives and work of well-known and emerging authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Entries include personal information, list of awards and honors, list of writings or illustrated works, adaptations, background information about major works, biographical and critical resources, and if the person is deseased, references for obituaries.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
A diverse online collection of K-12 books with author/illustrator resources. A useful collection of resources for a new teacher changing subjects/grades.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Centuries of analysis - scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.

Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Biographical information and topical articles related to children's literature (ex. graphic novels, book awards, etc.). Biographical entries have links to UST holdings of the author's works, but these don't work very well. Make sure you are searching for a book title if you try to follow these.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
Charles J. Keffer Library | MOH 206F

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology

More Author Information

In addition to TeachingBooks.net, these are other good databases to try when you need information about an author. Use the links in the center column to connect.