To offer multiple means of representation, provide information in multiple formats to support the different ways that students process and comprehend information.
Video
Our media collection includes both streaming media and physical DVDs that present concepts via video. Most of these videos are closed-captioned or contain transcripts so that students can choose to listen to the audio or read the information. We also have some videos with multiple language options and “described video,” which offers an audio description of what is happening on the screen.
Streaming video collections with closed-captions, subtitles, and transcripts:
- Academic Video Online (AVON) - streaming videos covering the areas of art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, psychology, religion, science, theater, and women's studies.
- Psychotherapy.net - high quality training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, addiction, and social work. The majority of the videos show therapists, social workers and other mental health professionals conducting therapy and demonstrating clinical skills, along with pre and post discussions.
- Films on Demand- streaming videos from Films Media Group. It provides academic videos in the subject areas of psychology, history, literature, languages, engineering, business, art, sociology, sciences and more. Also covers foreign films under the World Cinema Collection.
- Docuseek2 - covers films by the distributors Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. It contains documentaries in the areas of: Environmental Studies, Political Science, Peace & Justice, Criminal Justice, Latin American, History, Art, Media Studies, and more.
Film collections with multiple languages
- Swank - allows the UST community to stream major motion pictures. You can watch any film from the interface or you can link the movie and add it to Canvas.
- Digitalia films - films and documentaries from Spain, France, other European countries, North America and Latin America (especially Mexico, Cuba, Argentina and Brazil). Among the subjects included in the documentaries are archeology, history, nature, arts, and more.
Described Videos
Some of our DVDs are available with described video, which provides audio descriptions of what is happening visually. Look for "Described video" in the language note in the catalog (example catalog record).
[image description: a screen shot of the catalog record for the film "How Smart are Animals". The Language Note is highlighted, it reads, "In English; Closed-captioned. Described Video."]
