Research and Course Guides: Library Resources that support Universal Design for Learning: Course Design for the Common Good

Introduction

This page contains resources for the January 2016 Center for Faculty Development Workshop "Course Design for the Common Good."

The Center for Faculty Development
651-962-6022
facdevctr@stthomas.edu
http://www.stthomas.edu/fdc/

CAST website: Universal Design for Learning
CAST is a nonprofit education research and development organization that works to expand learning opportunities for all individuals through Universal Design for Learning.
UDL Guidelines 2.0
National Center on UDL's interactive guide for making your courses more accessible to all learners.

Inclusive Excellence Teaching Resources
Find additional resources here for reaching and teaching all students.
Magna 20-Minute Mentor Videos
Video-based programs designed to answer a specific question related to teaching and learning. They deliver actionable insights in highly focused 20-minute presentations designed to fit busy schedules. Free through Faculty Development. E-mail the FDC for login instructions.

Did one of our readings click with you? Find more research by authors of our readings by clicking their names below:

Explore these as you expand your research

ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides full-text research on a wide range of education topics. Includes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, and much more.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, coverage includes a range of educational topics and research levels. Access full text, peer-reviewed journals, and high-quality education trade journals.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of education topics from early childhood to higher ed as well as educational specialties like adult education, multilingual education, and more. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Education Full Text.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides training videos on business, software, technology, and creative skills. ITS provides access for all member of the UST community. Was previously Lynda.com.

Transparency in Teaching
Winkelmes, Mary-Ann. "Transparency in teaching: faculty share data and improve students' learning." Liberal Education 99.2 (2013): 48+. General OneFile. Web. 23 Oct. 2015.
Abstract?
Transparency in Learning and Teaching
Winkelmes, Mary-Ann. “Transparency in Learning and Teaching: Faculty and students benefit directly from a shared focus on learning and teaching processes.” NEA Higher Education Advocate (January 2013): Pages 6 - 9.

Recent Findings and Sample Assignments: Transparency and Problem-Centered Learning
Winkelmes, Mary-Ann. "Recent Findings: Transparency and Problem-Centered Learning." Association of American Colleges and Universities. November, 2015 (vol. 24, pp. 1-4).

Equity of Access
Winkelmes, Mary-Ann. "Equity of Access and Equity of Experience in Higher Education". The National Teaching and Learning FORUM, February. 2015 (vol. 24, pp. 1-4).
The Unwritten Rules of College
Berrett, Dan. "The Unwritten Rules of College," The Chronicle of Higher Education, January 21, 2015.
Transparency in Teaching and Learning
Transparency in Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
Transparent Methods
Transparent Methods, from the Transparency in Learning and Teaching project.
First Day Questions
Smith, Gary A. "First-Day Questions for the Learner-Centered Classroom".
The National Teaching and Learning FORUM, Sept. 2008 (vol. 17, pp. 1-4).
Are We Clear? Tips for Crafting Better Explanations
Weimer, Maryellen. "Are We Clear? Tips for Crafting Better Explanations." Faculty Focus, November 18, 2015.

A list of resources to help you better serve and understand the perspectives of higher ed student populations predicted to grow in the near future.

Student Veterans

VA Campus Toolkit
Includes links to "Characteristics of Student Veterans," "Common Adjustment Experiences" and "Additional Online Resources"
Student Veterans
Short video including testimonials of student veterans about the transition to college.
Student Veterans and PTSD
Short video simulating a student veteran's anxiety attack.

First Generation College Students

Unseen Disadvantage: How American Universities’ Focus on Independence Undermines the Academic Performance of First-Generation College Students
Research article aimed toward uncovering obstacles to the social class achievement gap and developing interventions to address them.
First Generation
Video documentary about four high school students who set out to break the cycle of poverty and bring hope to their families and communities by pursuing a college education.
Who Gets to Graduate?
New York Times article May 15, 2014.
22 Tips for Teaching First Generation College Students
Guide compiled by Cal State-Fullerton.
Heritage University Institute Breakthrough Strategies videos

International Students

Culture Clash in Iowa
CNN article article and video highlighting the increasing challenges of large numbers of international students on a campus, specifically Chinese students at the University of Iowa, and how domestic students play an important role in international students' adjustment.
Strangers in a Strange Land
Inside Higher Ed article about international students' experience in U.S. higher ed and the important role faculty can play in their transition.
Identifying Barriers to Effective Intercultural Communication

Students of Color / The New Majority

Black Students At White Colleges Fear They'll Lose Their Cultural Identity
Huffington Post article discussing assimilation issues of concern for black students attending predominately white universities.
Perceptions of Faculty Behavior by Students of Color
Article from University of Michigan's Center for Research and Teaching, includes a handy reference list.

Students with Disabilities

Types of Disabilities
Concise list of a range of physical and mental disabilities common found in student populations including brief descriptions of the disabilities and possibly related educational limitations.
Accomodating Students with Disabilities
Yale's faculty guide that includes more detailed discussions of how to accommodate students with a range of disabilities.
From Where I Sit: Voices of Students with Disabilities
Video series featuring the perspectives and testimonials of students with a range of disabilities.
Resources List on Postsecondary Students with Disabilities
Extensive list compiled by the US DoED's Advisory Commission on Accessible Instructional Materials in Postsecondary Education for Students with Disabilities. Includes general references, legal and legislative information, and stakeholder surveys.

Adult Learners