Skip to Main Content

Sacramental Theology: Books

Catholic life is geared around the seven sacraments, which confer grace on the believer. This is an overview of the historical development of the Catholic sacraments and their theological significance in the modern world.


Holy Orders

Seven men were ordained transitional deacons by Archbhishop John Nienstedt on May 7, 2011 at the Basilica of St. Mary in Minneapolis. (Photo: The Catholic Spirit)

The Catholic clergy is comprised of the sacramental roles of deacons, priests, and bishops, with administrative roles extending up to the pope as leader of the world's Catholics. The magisterium is the Church' teaching authority.

See also Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1536–1600

Books by Scott Hahn