Sacramental Theology: Documents of the Magisterium

The official Latin edition of most of the key liturgic texts can be found in this text.

This document presents the official English translation authorized by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops and approved by the Vatican of the instruction for the celebration of Mass according to the Third Typical Edition of the Roman Missal. It includes detailed instructions for each part of the Mass; for the duties of the celebrant, other ministers and the people; the different forms of celebrating Mass; for the arrangement and furnishings of churches; and for the bread and wine and sacred furnishings, vessels, and vestments. It also provides norms for the selection of Mass, the choice of texts for the Mass, the selection of texts set to music and special rules for Masses for the dead and Masses with prayers for various circumstances. It concludes with a chapter on adaptations within the competence of bishops and bishops' conferences.

All who participated in the Eucharistic celebration should have a complete knowledge and understanding of this fundamental document.

Vol 1: Contains the Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy (1963), the General Instruction of the Roman Missal (2002). in addition to the most basic post-Vatican II documents on the liturgy. Vol II: Contains additional post-Vatican II documents reflecting liturgical reforms. Each document is introduced with a commentary discussing its significance.

A collection of over 500 documents issued during and after Vatican II which includes papal addresses, encyclicals, circular letters, and official statements from the Congregation for Divine Worship. Contains a comprehensive subject index as well as a detailed appendix of documents by title (Latin and English) by date of issue.

Provides the historical context for some thirty documents of the American bishops. Where helpful see also references are provided to related texts in the volume.

These orange volumes are shelved on the center aisle in the reference room.
Print version of the standard English language source for major church documents published by the Vatican, Roman congregations, bishops conferences and individual bishops. Origins-Plus, an electronic version covering the years 1996 to the present, is available via the library web page or using the link located on the left side of this screen.

The bi-monthly publication of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments. Includes official documents as well as important critical studies. Notitiae is a more complete source for current official liturgical documents than Acta Apostolicae Sedis.

Library has: v.1 (Jan. 1965)- v.30 (Dec. 1994),
v.32:no.6 (June 1996)- v.35:no.6 (July 1999),
v.35:no.8 (Sept./Oct. 1999)- v.36:no.11 (Nov. 2000),
v.37:no.1 (Jan. 2001)- v.38:no.8 (Aug. 2002),
v.38:no.11 (Nov. 2002)-