Research and Course Guides: Curriculum and Teaching Resources: K-12 Classroom Research

St. Thomas Databases for Classroom Research

St. Thomas databases that are appropriate for student use in K-12 classrooms. The resources in these databases are sometimes aligned with state and national curriculum standards for specific grade levels and age groups. Use these databases to build lesson plans and more.

Gale In Context: High School This link opens in a new window
For high school students and teachers. Includes encyclopedia entries, newspaper articles, and primary sources. Materials are aligned to national, state, and Common Core State Standards
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Includes short but in-depth articles on current topics. Articles include news coverage, pro/con lists, timelines, stats, and more.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Includes articles on social issues including topic overviews, stats, primary sources, credible links, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
A diverse online collection of K-12 books with author/illustrator resources. A useful collection of resources for a new teacher changing subjects/grades.
National Geographic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
The National Geographic Virtual Library Magazine Archive brings together every page of the National Geographic magazine

eLibrary Minnesota Databases

Once you graduate, you will no longer have access to St. Thomas Library Resources. Explore these databases provided by eLibrary Minnesota that are appropriate for k-12 students and may be mapped to standards. These databases are free to all Minnesota residents.

ELM Elementary Databases
Explore all databases in eLibrary Minnesota suitable for elementary students
Pebble Go
go-to curriculum-connected materials suitable for elementary school educators and students. Topics include Animals and Biographies.
ELM Middle School Databases
Explore all databases in eLibrary Minnesota suitable for middle school students
Britannica School
Britannica School provides three levels: elementary, middle school, and high school. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, magazine articles, website links, and multimedia. Resources are aligned with state and national curriculum standards.
ELM High School Databases
Explore all databases in eLibrary Minnesota suitable for high school students
Points of View Reference Center
Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues