Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Sources for the Big Picture
This list includes several guides, manuals, and a textbook that look at the broad issues in curriculum design. See the subpage for research handbooks for specific subject areas.
Understanding by Design, 2d ed.
Call Number: Keffer Curr LB2806.15 .W54 2005
A guide for teachers across the K-16 spectrum to assist in curriculum design, assessment, and instruction.
Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies (2 vol.)
Call Number: Keffer Ref LB2806.15 .E48 2010
The Encyclopedia of Curriculum Studies provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. This two-volume set serves to inform and to introduce terms, events, documents, biographies, and concepts to assist the reader in understanding this field of study.
Curriculum Development in the Postmodern Era
Call Number: Keffer Stacks LB2806.15 .S63 2013
This book provides an introduction to, and analysis of, contemporary concepts of curriculum that have emerged from the reconceptualization of curriculum studies that have emerged in recent decades.
Course Design a Guide to Curriculum Development for Teachers
Call Number: Keffer LB2806.15 .P67 2006
The purpose of this book is to help teachers become flexible but systematic curriculum planners. The authors provide a set of guidelines, then lead readers through a step-by-step process for developing a course or unit.
Developing the Curriculum
Call Number: Keffer LB2806.15 .O45 2009
In addition to providing a foundation of information on curriculum models, concepts, and current issues; this text provides a step-by-step guide through the process of curriculum development.
Getting Results with Curriculum Mapping
E-book, also in print at Keffer Library. Curriculum maps, if done well, draw connections between content areas, skills, and assessments. This guide will help teachers get the most out of a curriculum mapping process. Includes a chaper about a curriculum mapping project at Minnehaha Academy.
Contact me for assistance