Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information isn't just in print form anymore. Here are some sources related to teaching in other types of media. Try them out.
Music and Media Collections Information
Films on Demand - Streaming Video Database
Watch streaming video titles in art, business, engineering, history, languages, literature, psychology, sociology, sciences and more. Thousands of full-length videos available. Advanced Search.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the database of videos by keyword or subject
LibrarySearch: DVD and Streaming Videos
Other Video and Podcast Sites
Annenberg Media's multimedia resources help teachers increase their expertise in their fields and assist them in improving their teaching methods. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home. All Annenberg Media videos exemplify excellent teaching.
Pick a grade range and subject area, then select video from the 'media type' box.
Science Friday is a weekly science talk show, broadcast live over public radio stations, focusing on science topics in the news. At this site, you can listen to or sign up for podcasts, view videos, and use other resources including a teacher page called 'Teachers Talking Science'.
National Geographic Videos
Visit this site for videos about animals, natural forces, science, space, people & places, among other topics.
NBC Nightly News
Any of the network news programs have video from recent shows. Check also ABC at http://abcnews.go.com/video; or CBS at http://www.cbsnews.com/. Great for current events in social studies classes.
A site that specializes in providing video of subjects performing sport skills at varying levels of expertise as a medium for teachers, coaches, and students to practice movement analysis; and to provide video demonstration models of sport skills and games for learners, teachers, and coaches.
Use the search box, or visit the channel link to find videos made by teachers for almost all subject areas.
Speaking of History
This blog by an 8th grade social studies teacher from Missour has a number of embedded videos in it.
This user-friendly site provides access to free materials from public broadcasting and their partners; including NOVA, Frontline, American Experience and others. Resources include video, audio, interactive images, documents, lesson plans, student activities, which are correlated to state and national standards.
This site includes an extensive video library on science and mathematics topics for K-12 teachers and students. Also includes practice exercises and score tracking. Note: Seems to work better on Firefox than on IE browser.
WatchKnowLearn has indexed over 20,000 educational videos, placing them into a directory of over 3,000 categories. The videos are available without any registration or fees to teachers in the classroom and to students at home 24/7. Users can search by topic or age level.
Science 360: The Knowledge Network
A product of the National Science Foundation, this site provides short videos on a host of science topics by academic and other authorities in the field.
Contact me for assistance