Health research can help you explore topics such as the impact of environmental and social issues on mental and physical health, nutrition, lowering infant and maternal mortality rates, addressing health crises, and increasing life expectancy.
Selected library research guides on health and well being issues:
Consumer Health Complete contains easily understandable health and medical information from medical encyclopedias, popular reference books and magazines.
The full DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual) online, including all editions, supplements and revisions from the DSM to the DSM5. Includes comparisons to the ICD.
Indexes articles on all aspects of medicine, published all over the world. Use for human biology, anatomy, and physiology, psychiatry, pharmacology, and health care management, administration, and policy. The MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) search is extremely helpful in finding terms. After you find an especially appropriate article, click on Related Records to find other articles of interest.
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
