Research and Course Guides: +Sustainability Resources: Economics & Business

Encyclopedias and other Reference Sources

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
Palgraves is the premier subject encyclopedia for the field. You will find it useful for getting definitive explanations of economic concepts, browsing for research paper topic selection, and locating additional sources for further reading from the article bibliographies. Covers all aspects of the field, including micro and macroeconomics, economic history, econometrics, international, urban, financial, monetary, public, and theoretical economics.

Oxford Handbooks Online: Economics & Finance
50+ encyclopedias in all areas of economic specialty.
Companion to Urban Economics (Wiley)
An overview of this field, addressing urbanization, land use, housing & real estate, transportation, urban public economics, labor markets, and quality of life.
The Elgar Companion to Health Economics, Second Edition
Chapters on a wide variety of health care economic and market issues.
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
provides extensive insight into the contemporary debate on poverty. Contains over 800 original articles written by more than 125 authors.
Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy, plus explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators.
Oxford Handbook of International Business
Oxford Handbook of International Business compiles all the literature of the last 40 years. into six major sections, providing comprehensive coverage of the following areas: History and Theory of the Multinational Enterprise, The Political and Regulatory Environment, Strategy and International Management, Managing the MNE Area Studies, Methodological Issues. This book shows the changes and development in the field.
Handbook of International Financial Terms (Oxford Reference)
This Handbook is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference book on the world of finance. Here you can find out the meanings of what can seem a bewildering array of financial terms, such as a Circus, a Firewall, an Amazon Bond, a Clean Float, a Cocktail Swap, a Butterfly, a Streaker, a Straddle, and a Strangle. There are numerous examples to show how particular calculations and instruments are used; details are also given of acronyms, currencies, and major markets.

Economics Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Economics journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, working papers, and dissertations.
EconLit user guide
National Bureau of Economic Research Publications This link opens in a new window
Articles, working papers, research summaries, books & book chapters, and datasets on major economic issues.
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of this key political-business news magazine from 1843-2020.
OECD Economics iLibrary This link opens in a new window
International economics content including journals, analytical reports, and statistical data.

Business Databases

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
This is a comprehensive database that contains abstracts and the full text of thousands of business and news publications as well as country and industry reports, company profiles, SWOTs, and market research reports.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Public company financial data, SEC filings, and industry information. Investment analyst reports available via the Investext module.
Note: Mergent will be discontinuing the Mergent Online platform in mid-2025. Its replacement, Mergent Market Atlas, is available now.
Use of the Mergent data and service are intended for non-commercial academic purposes only.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry This link opens in a new window
Contains company and industry articles from thousands of scholarly, trade and news publications. It also includes company profiles, financial data, and industry reports from major and smaller, niche industries perfect for marketing and business plans.
ABI/Inform Trade & Industry user guide