Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sustainability is a broad topic that spans many different disciplines and subject areas. This guide uses the UN Sustainable Development Goals (pictured below) to define the scope of sustainability.
Because sustainability covers so many different ideas, you'll want to think about which disciplines and subjects you want to focus on for your topic.
How this guide is organized:
We've organized resources into the following broad categories:
Each section provides links to reference resources, databases, and other research guides to get your started.
We encourage you to contact a Subject Librarian (see box below) to help you find the best resources for your research.
Selected Library sources on Sustainability
Use the mind map below to explore some of the concepts related to Sustainability. Click "View in Credo" to find background articles, videos, definitions, and more about those concepts.
Since Sustainability topics are multidisciplinary, the following databases are also broad in their coverage of issues and subjects. For more specific recommendations, go to the tab on this guide that best matches your topic.
JSTOR has ebooks and scholarly journals across many subjects. To see our Sustainability Collection in JSTOR, go to Browse -> By Subject.
Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Articles from scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Academic Search Premier
Another broad database that is a great place to start with research. Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
CLICsearch: Find library resources with a single search box
LibrarySearch is the library catalog of six private colleges and universities in the Twin Cities, including Saint Thomas. Books from other campuses can be requested online and delivered to the St. Thomas library of your choice.
Learn more about using LibrarySearch.
Ask a Librarian
Chat with us during library reference hours using the widget in the lower right corner of this page, or use our Ask a Librarian page to contact us.
Work with a librarian
Find a subject librarian
Since Sustainability is such an interdisciplinary topic, you may find it very useful to meet with a subject librarian who specialize in the field of research that you are interested in.
Choose a subject from the list below to find the librarian who specializes in that subject. All of us are happy to meet with you about your topic.