Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Step 2: Develop your idea
The Fulbright application requires students to submit at Statement of Grant Purpose. This 2-page document outlines the Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How of what you are proposing for your Fulbright year. If you are pursuing a research project, developing a strong, feasible and compelling project is the most important aspect of a successful Fulbright application. The first step is to familiarize yourself with the program summary for your host country in order to verify the type of grant you can propose. The resources below can help you explore and refine a research project.
Make an appointment with a Librarian to do more in-depth research on your topic.
You can use the online library to conduct relevant research and find scholars by topic.
1) Subject Guides
These research guides are created by our librarians and will point you to the best starting places for research in particular subjects.
Our library catalog that lets you search for books, articles, videos and more on any topic. Enter a few keywords to get started. Once you've done a search, you can narrow results by the type of source, when they were published, and by subject.
3) Reference sources
Reference sources can get you started with background information on topics and references to further research. Many of our reference sources are online, including:
A very broad collection of encyclopedia, dictionaries, thesauri, and more. Take a look at Topic Pages for more detailed information on certain topics. You can also look at the Mind Maps (do a search on a topic, and then choose "Mind Map" at the top of the results. This can help you think about how your topic is related to others and give you some ideas of what directions you might want to explore.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley Online Library (formerly Blackwell Reference Online) is a vast online library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship across the humanities and social sciences.
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Over 1,000 articles covering the music of all the world’s peoples, with over 200 audio tracks. Includes overviews of geographic regions, their musical heritages, and descriptions of genres, practices, and performances. Illustrated with photographs, drawings, maps, and musical examples.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to the following subject collections: Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, and Religion,
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Overviews of classic and current research in the humanities, social sciences, education, psychology, engineering, and built environment.
This database lets you search for scholarly research on many different topics. Enter keywords that you're interested in. You can then narrow your results by subject area or keyword and more using choices on the left side of the results page.
Look at the options for narrowing by Keyword or Subject Area as a way to think about different aspects of your topic that you might like to explore.
You can also search by country or author or affiliation, which can be helpful in other aspects of your application.
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Search on keywords related to your topic, and then narrow your results by subject area or keyword or even country.