Research and Course Guides: Resources for Following and Understanding the Ukrainian War: News Sources and Statistics

Beyond the Paywall

Many news sources put some or all of their resources behind a paywall that can be only be accessed with a subscription. The University Libraries has subscription access to many of these news sources, either through our databases or individual news source subscriptions.

News Sources (Subscriptions)

ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a great source for finding up-to-the-minute news articles from publications around the world including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the Financial Times.
If you use Factiva's Share>Within My Account feature to find links for emailing or to use in Canvas, that URL needs to be adjusted with a special code to connect it with our subscription. Copy that URL and paste it into our ProxyMe! widget to create the adjusted URL.

LibrarySearch: Newspapers
Search across 1 billion newspapers articles from hundreds of newspapers.
The Economist
The Economist is an important and respected English-language newsweekly magazine, this link is all of their coverage of the war in one place.

Statistics and Data

Statista is a library database that contains frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. The links below are to dossiers that are topical collections of statistics, infographics, and country reports.

Russia-Ukraine Conflict 2021-2022 - Statistics & Facts
This report outlines the size of the two militaries and other pertinent statistics in regards to this conflict.
Ukraine
This Statista dossier on Ukraine provides, among other information, figures and statistics on inflation rates, total population and life expectancy, export and import, and the state's national finances.
Russia
This dossier presents graphs and tables about Russia. It includes figures on demographics as well as economical data and national finances. Additionally, it provides data on Russia in comparison with other countries and key comparisons of the BRIC countries.
Kyiv
The Statista Global Business Cities Report ranks the most important business cities from around the world based on the most relevant data for business decision makers. Kiev is the center of Ukrainian culture.
30 Years of the Russian Federation
Russia has the sixth-largest economy worldwide (based on GDP in purchasing power standards) and plays a major role in global politics. This dossier looks at how Russia got to where it stands today, focusing on current trends in its domestic politics, international relations, and society.

Other Data Sources

Ukraine Crisis
Data from the Armed Conflict Location & Event Data Project (ACLED).
Ukraine Data Explorer
From the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX).
Humanitarian Data Exchange Ukraine datasets
From HDX, browse these search results for datasets to use.
ACAPS Ukraine Crisis
Special reports and data from a non-profit information provider. Hit the "see all indicators" link for a detailed spreadsheet of data across various humanitarian crises.
War in Ukraine data
Various indicators and visualizations providing context for the war from Our World in Data.

Supply Chains, Infrastructure, and Cybersecurity - Business implications of the war via The Gartner Group

Gartner is a library database that provides research and analysis about global technology issues and their impact on organizations. This evolving collection of essential reports and quick answers serves as a jumping-off point to understanding the business climate in Ukraine, and to guide executives and business leaders in their responses during this time of disruption.

Race is Making it More Difficult for Some to Flee Ukraine

Keeping Current

Associated Press
"The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business."
The BBC
"The BBC is the world's leading public service broadcaster. We’re impartial and independent, and every day we create distinctive, world-class programmes and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world."
Reuters
"Reuters provides business, financial, national and international news to professionals via desktop terminals, the world's media organizations, industry events and directly to consumers."
Kyiv Independent
The Kyiv Independent is an English-language Ukrainian news site that contains a newsfeed of events as they unfold.
Financial Times
The Financial Times is making key Ukraine coverage free to read to keep everyone informed as events unfold

Russia and the Soviet Union: Background Readings from JSTOR

The Russian invasion of Ukraine wasn’t a surprise attack. JSTOR opened some of their archived stories that will help readers to understand the military, economic, and geographic history in order to provide context for the developing conflict.

Access is free to all users.

Are conflicts like this the wave of the future?

The Antidemocratic Turn
Attacks on democratic institutions are spreading faster than ever in Europe and Eurasia, and coalescing into a challenge to democracy itself.
Authoritarian Interference Tracker
The Authoritarian Interference Tracker catalogues the Russian and Chinese governments’ activities to undermine democracy in more than 40 transatlantic countries since 2000 using five tools: information manipulation, cyber operations, malign finance, civil society subversion, and economic coercion. The Tracker shines a light on the tactics and trends that define the Russian and Chinese governments’ interference efforts, and highlights the interconnectivity between different parts of the asymmetric toolkit.
The Global Expansion of Authoritarian Rule
Global freedom faces a dire threat. Around the world, the enemies of liberal democracy—a form of self-government in which human rights are recognized and every individual is entitled to equal treatment under law—are accelerating their attacks.