Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Getting Started

This guide includes resources and information about children's and young adult literature

Looking Back...

This image is from the Rare and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress.  More digitized (and historical) children's books can be found at the link below.

 

About Keffer Library

Library Hours

Keffer Library Photo 

Charles J. Keffer Library
651-962-4642 (Circulation)
651-962-4664 (Reference)
651-962-4640 (Hours)
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403

Directions & Parking

Find Us on Facebook

General Information

The Hubbs Children's Literature Collection is located on the main floor of Keffer Library.  It is open during all library hours. This collection includes picture books, fiction for grades K-12 and nonfiction for K-8 with fewer titles for high school level. 

The collection is arranged in Library of Congress Classification.  For fiction, this means that picture books, chapter books, and young adult titles are innerfiled alphabetically by author.  Common literature call numbers include:

  • PZ 5 short story collections (multiple authors, stories by a single author are in PZ7)
  • PZ 7 and 7.1 fiction
    • 7.1 for authors first published after January 2015
  • PZ 7.5 novels in verse form
  • PZ 7.7 graphic novels
  • PZ 8 and PZ 8.1 folk and fairy tales
  • PZ 8.2 fables
  • PZ 8.3 poetry, and stories in rhyme (picture books with a rhyming text)

 

Nonfiction is arranged throughout the rest of the collection (call numbers starting with A-PS and Q-Z). You may also find information books that are in a graphic novel format (don't let the format confuse you).  Ask for assistance if you cannot locate something. 

This guide has a number of pages with specialized information related to children's and young adult literature.  Please explore them and learn more.

More Guides

You may also wish to use these guides.

Contact me for assistance

Trent Brager's picture
Trent Brager
Contact:
tjbrager@stthomas.edu
(651) 962-4662
Subjects:Education