Research and Course Guides: PSYC 422 History of Psychology in Context (Prof Johnson): Historical Newspapers, Popular Magazines & Timelines

Find Newspaper Articles

New York Times (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The New York Times from 1851 to 2020 including articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Washington Post (historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of Washington Post from 1877 to 2008 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
In this database, you will find full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Guardian and The Observer (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Complete content of the British newspapers, The Guardian (1821 - 2003) and The Observer (1791- 2003) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Irish Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you access to the complete content of the Irish Times newspaper (1859-2012) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
In this database you will find full-text content and images of 70 national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers including both liberal and conservative perspectives on the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.
Chicago Defender (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you with access to the complete content the African-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
Pittsburgh Courier (Historical) This link opens in a new window
This database provides you with access to the complete content of the African-American newspaper, the Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) including all articles, editorials, advertisements and photographs.
The Times (London) Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The Times, the world’s oldest continuously published newspaper, from 1785 to 2014 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.
Sunday Times (London) Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete searchable content of The Sunday Times from 1822 to 2021 including all articles, editorials, advertisements, and photographs.

Historical TImelines

Find Popular Magazine Articles

American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
With this database you have access to 1,500 magazines, newspapers and popular journal titles published in the United States dating 1741 through the 1930s.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
With this database you have access to several popular women’s magazines published in the United States and Canada dating from the from the late 1800s through the 20th century.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Use the Readers' Guide Retrospective index to locate articles published in popular press magazines and journals dating from 1890 to 1982.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of peer-reviewed journals and general interest sources across many subject areas.
British Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
With this database you have access to magazines, popular journals and other periodicals published in Great Britain dating from the from the late 1600s to World War II.

Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Index to about 150 Catholic interest publications, including journals, newspapers, books, reviews, and church documents (Vatican pronouncements and bishops' official statements). This online index begins in 1981. The print version (OSF Reference AI3 .C286) began back in 1930.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
This database contains current, in-depth reporting on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.