Research and Course Guides: PSYC 422 History of Psychology in Context (Prof Johnson): Books and Book Reviews

James McKeen Cattell

James McKeen Catell, a founding member of the APA

Find Book Reviews

The following indexes will help you find book reviews to specific titles:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text of thousands of journals from the 1800s to the present in psychology and related disciplines, including education, linguistics, neurosciences, pharmacology, and social work.

Find Books

The following resources will be useful to you when trying to locate books :

LibrarySearch
LibrarySearch is the University of St. Thomas libraries' simple, one-stop search for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more,
Google Books
Google Books is a collection of digitized books and periodicals. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given its permission, the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, the OCLC Online Union Catalog, contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world.

Project Gutenburg
Project Gutenburg provides free access to over 33,000 out of copyright titles.
Psychology's Feminist Voices
The Resources section of this site provides a bibliography of works related to the history of women in psychology.
Internet Archives
The Internet Archive is digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.

Background Sources

These resources with help you find background information as well as provide bibliographies of books and articles.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks features review essays, written by leading experts, that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. UST currently subscribes to 7 subject collections.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 350 full text books published by Cambridge University Press. Subjects range widely across the humanities. It includes major works such as The Cambridge Ancient History, American history, British history, Economic history, General history, History of science, History of the book, Language and linguistics, Literary studies, Music, Philosophy, Political and social theory, Regional history, Religious studies, and more.

Encyclopedia of Psychology

This resource, published by the American Psychological Association and Oxford University Press, is the basic set for the field. Articles are written by authorities in the field and include extensive bibliographies. This is also available in print in the OSF Library Reference collection. The title link is for Volume #1. Search in PsycBOOKS for the entire set and/or specific articles.
     Volume 1 : A-B
     Volume 2 : C-Determinants
     Volume 3 : Developmental-Goodenough
     Volume 4 : Government-Learned
     Volume 5 : Learning-Oppositional
     Volume 6 : Optimism-Rapaport
     Volume 7 : Rape-S
     Volume 8 : T-Z