China for businesswomen (print) by
A Western businesswoman in China confronts all the obstacles her male counterparts do. But the challenges in China for a woman on business are unique. In addition to covering crucial business-related protocols, this book also provides essential insights for women only: how to make sure your authority is recognized, how to avoid social awkwardness, how to rise above traditional gender-based distinctions to lead your team, close the deal, and build vital, long-term relationships." "Scattered throughout is advice from key executive and entrepreneurial women who have already succeeded in China, representing retail, high tech, manufacturing, services, government, and tourism at all managerial levels.
Culture Wise China (print) by
Travellers often underestimate the cultural isolation they can face abroad, particularly in a country with a different language. While most foreigners have no problem accepting that China will be different from their own country, they may be surprised at just how different it is! Most newcomers find China a very ‘foreign’ country indeed and some come unstuck as a result. Culture Wise China will help you understand China and adapt to the Chinese way of life and enable you to quickly feel at home.
Doing business in China by
Aimed specifically at Western and non-Chinese businesses and managers this book offers a theoretical framework for understanding Chinese business culture and a practical guide to business practices, market conditions, negotiations, organizations, networks and the business environment in China and the factors that can lead to business success.
Culture Wise India (print) by
Culture Wise India is essential reading for anyone planning to visit or live in India, whether for business or pleasure, for a few days holiday or a lifetime. It is guaranteed to help newcomers avoid cultural and social gaffes; make friends and influence people; and enhance their understanding of India and the Indian people.
Doing Business in India, 3rd ed. by
The India Briefing Guide to Doing Business in India introduces one of the fastest growing economies in the world. The guide provides a thorough overview of India's key demographics and business opportunities and infrastructure by region. Also included is information on FDI trends, business establishment procedures, economic zones and labor and tax considerations, analysis of Indian business etiquette and culture, and details of procedural, operational and tax differences between India and its economic and geographical neighbor, China. India Briefing's guides are leaders in their field, providing practical business insights to foreign investors in India.
Doing Business in India by
The aim of this book is to analyze the nature of European and North American firms' business experience in India with a particular emphasis on understanding the causes of their successes and failure. Part of this is due to the fact that although India resembles the West in some ways, the institutional environment is radically different from that of Euro-American societies. Differences in culture, politics, the economy, and business structure all make it difficult for a Western manager to act accordingly. This book strives to offer Western managers the knowledge they will need to succeed in business in India.
Speaking of India: bridging the communication gap when working with Indians (print) by
Misunderstandings and frustration due to cultural differences wreak havoc on success. In this revised edition of Speaking of India, author and intercultural communications expert Craig Storti attempts to ease the frustration, and bring cultural understanding in business and life.
Business passport to Japan (print) by
This book goes beyond the logistical details of meetings, courtesy, and protocol to uncover the thought processes and cultural values behind the behaviors and situations readers may encounter—especially those that are changing as Japan’s “blue suit” corporate culture gives way to a younger, laid-back, and more Internet-savvy workforce.
Culture Wise Japan (print) by
To many people, Japan is the embodiment of ‘culture shock’, although it is used to welcoming and catering for hundreds of thousands of foreign workers and visitors. Not surprisingly, most newcomers find many aspects of Japanese life alien – and some come unstuck as a result. Culture Wise Japan will help you understand Japan and its people, and adapt to the Japanese way of life. Most importantly, it will enable you to quickly feel at home.
Doing business with the new Japan (print) by
In this invaluable book, three leading experts pool their decades of experience to provide a pragmatic guide for Westerners doing business in Japan. The authors explain Japanese culture and negotiating techniques and provide practical advice on conducting effective meetings with Japanese clients.
Asian business customs & manners (print) by
This is a guide that covers all the dos and don’ts of business etiquette in Asia. Organized country by country, this comprehensive guide contains information on every situation you’ll encounter, including business practices and attitudes, meetings, negotiations, meals, punctuality, language, gestures, tipping, manners, gifts, and everything in between.
Culture and business in Asia (print) by
This book describes and examines the links between culture and business in several Asian countries, primarily China and India, but also Japan, South Korea, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand. Instead of treating Asia as a unit, the author builds an accurate account of real business in distinct regions.
Doing business in Asia: the complete guide (print) by
Written by a seasoned expert on international business development, this guide distills a library's worth of essential knowledge into a single, practical volume. It allows readers to quickly acquaint themselves with nineteen foreign lands and learn the finer points of conducting business within each distinctive culture.
Kiss, bow, or shake hands Asia (print) by
This volume explores how people from various Asian cultures perceive information and negotiate business deals. It covers topics such as gift-giving, value systems, cognitive styles and personal space.
A Common Core: Thais and Americans (print) by 
Culture wise Australia (print) by
Culture Wise Australia is essential reading for anyone planning to visit Australia, whether for business or pleasure, for a few days holiday or to start a new life. It is guaranteed to help newcomers avoid cultural and social gaffes; make friends and influence people; and enhance their understanding of Australia and the Australian people.
Doing Business in Korea by
Much of the existing research looks at the outflow of companies and people from Korea to foreign countries, whilst less is known about foreign firms and workers in Korea. Considering the immense interest of both academics and practitioners in the business opportunities in Korea, this book provides a comprehensive overview of doing business in Korea and recommendations on how foreign companies and individuals can succeed in this market. This book covers a wide range of relevant topics, including the Korean business environment, market entry into Korea, management issues and entrepreneurship in Korea. This is a must-read for anyone interested in or already doing business in Korea.
Learning to think Korean (print) by
Kohls shares a feast of Korean culture: a ricebowl of history and tradition complemented by an array of spicy tidbits that capture the reader's attention like a mouthful of kimchi. Based on personal experience, he provides critical incidents that explore the more puzzling aspects of Korean culture.
Culture Wise New Zealand (print) by
Culture Wise New Zealand is essential reading for anyone planning to visit New Zealand, whether for business or pleasure, for a few days holiday or to start a new life. It is guaranteed to help newcomers avoid cultural and social gaffes; make friends and influence people; and enhance their understanding of New Zealand and the New Zealand people.