Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Linking to Streaming Video & Audio
The Libraries have thousands of streaming video and audio titles available for use in your courses.
- See the Films page or the Music page to do a LibrarySearch across our audio or video collections, or to select an individual streaming database.
- Once you've found a title you wish to use, follow the instructions here to find/create a working URL to this title to link in Canvas.
- If you have questions about linking to Films, or more advanced topics like creating & linking to playlists, or creating custom clips from one of our streaming videos contact Cindy Badillia-Melendez in the Media Resources collection for assistance.
Finding/Creating Direct Links to Streaming Video & Audio Titles
Once you've found a video or audio title you want to use in a course, note its title and which streaming database it's contained in. Follow the instructions below to find the correct permanent link URL or embed code for your film or audio (adding the EZProxy coding via the ProxyMe widget if not already in the URL, noted below), and then add link to a content area in Canvas as needed.
- 60 Minutes: 1997-2014: find film, hit "Share" link at top, then copy the Permalink or the Embed Code as you prefer.
- Academic Video Online: find film, hit "Share" link at top, then copy the Permalink or the Embed Code as you prefer.
- Ambrose Video: find film, hit the "Links & Embedding" link, then copy the Direct Link or the Embed Code as you prefer.
- Counseling & Therapy in Video: find film, hit "Share" link at top, then copy the Permalink or the Embed Code as you prefer.
- Digitalia: find film's "synopsis" page, copy URL in browser's address bar to use.
- Docuseek: find film, hit the "Embed" link to find the Embed Code or Permanent Link as you prefer, or hit the "Make a Clip" link.
- DRAM: find item, copy URL in browser's address bar, paste into "Proxy Me" widget to add EZProxy prefix.
- Film Platform: find film, copy URL in browser's address bar to use.
- Films on Demand: find film, hit "Share," then hit "Embed/Link", then copy the "Record URL" field. or Embed Code as you prefer. Or hit "Segments" to create clips.
- Kanopy Films: find film, hit the "Share" button, use the Share or Embed options as you prefer.
- Media Education Foundation: find film, hit the "Share" button, use the Share or Embed options as you prefer.
- Medici.tv: find item, copy URL in browser's address bar to use.
- Music Online: Classical Performance in Video: find film, hit "Share" link at top, then copy the Permalink or the Embed Code as you prefer.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound: find film, hit "Share" link at top, then copy the Permalink or the Embed Code as you prefer.
- Naxos Music Library & Naxos Music Library Jazz: find item, find and hit the link icon above the blue bar, then copy the link to use.
- Psychotherapy.net: find item, copy URL in browser's address bar to use.
- Swank: find film, hit the "Copy Direct Link" or "Copy LMS Link" at the bottom of the film viewer as appropriate.
- World Cinema: find film, hit "Share," then hit "Embed/Link", then copy the "Record URL" field. or Embed Code as you prefer. Or hit "Segments" to create clips.
In order for a persistent link to work for off-campus users, the link must include the prefix https://login.ezproxy.stthomas.edu/login?url= or the embedded code string .ezproxy.stthomas.edu/.
In some cases the code string will already be part of the persistent link, but for others you will have to add it. It is up to you to identify whether or not the code string is already there.
Example of a persistent link that already includes the code:
Example of a persistent link that needs to have the Ezproxy code added:
To add the Ezproxy code, copy and paste the PURL into this box:
Embed Films on Demand & Docuseek2 in Canvas
Two of our streaming video databases, Films on Demand and Docuseek2 now allow embedded videos from within Canvas. This works easiest if you've gone to the database first and found the title of the video you want to use. To use direct linking:
- Find the title of the film you wish to use in Films on Demand or Docuseek2.
- Open the rich text editor in a piece of Canvas content (e.g. a Page or an Assignment).
- Click the blue "V" icon in the menu bar to open the submenu to select the database
- Pick the database containing your film, use the search box(es) to locate it and select it.
- Save and publish your content.
Adding Links to Canvas
In most cases, you will likely add text & links to or embed library content in the following Canvas content types:
- a syllabus or other document
- a Library Resources or other course module
- a page (which may be then linked to a module)
- an assignment (which may be then linked to a module)
In each of these content types, you will create your content via a rich text editor box (modules also have an External Link content type you might use). In the example below, this time we'll discuss adding an article or ebook link via a rich text box in a Canvas Assignment content type.
Once you have found the durable URL for your streaming video or audio title in the applicable library database and ensured that it includes the library EZ Proxy coding (as described elsewhere on this page), it's a snap to place it in Canvas.
- copy the EZProxy coded URL
- open or create the Assignment you wish to use
- in the rich text editor box, describe the assignment. Best practice is to include a complete citation to the video or audio composition you are linking to, and embed the link in the title (including a complete citation will aid the student in locating the resource via the library website if the link happens to fail or break).
- highlight the audo or video title in the text box, hit the link button, and paste the URL into the form
- fill in the rest of the Assignment form (grading, submission options, etc.), and then Save and Publish the assignment. Add/link the assignment to the appropriate module as needed.