It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start here when you need to find research in psychology. Which areas of psychology? Just about all of them. PsycINFO covers mental health, counseling, cognitive science, neuroscience, education, learning, family studies and language. Provides full-text access (back to the first issue) of the journals published by the American Psychological Association, as well as other association journals and many books and book chapters.
SocINDEX with Full Text identifies resources in the field of sociology and related subject areas. It indexes over 3000 journals and provides full text for 890 journals, several dating back to 1908. It also includes full text for over 850 books and monographs, as well as over 16,800 conference reports. It also includes a thesaurus of sociological terms.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Access to full-text available through UST subscription resources. Click "Get it@UST Libraries." to get free full-text.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database provides information about 1.3 million items related to education, including journal articles, books, conference papers, statistical or research reports and other items. It is THE essential tool for research in education.
Education Full Text indexes over 770 education journals, as well as some monographs and yearbooks. Over 400 of the journals are peer-reviewed and almost half are available in full text. It also includes several peer-reviewed open access journals. The indexing starts in 1983, and the full text starts in 1996. Approximately 75-100 of the titles are not indexed in ERIC and it is a complementary resource to use with ERIC.
PILOTS is a bibliographic database produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont, and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, while offering both current and retrospective coverage.
Other Psychology Databases
These databases also include resources covering Psychology topics.
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., it contains records from journals on topics such as homelessness, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Updated every six months. 1977- . Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
SciFinder-n is the new interface for the classic version of SciFinder. SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature. Before logging in for the first time, you must register for an individual account. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).
This database provides citations for over 2.7 million dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world. Close to half are available in PDF form that researchers can download. All St. Thomas dissertations that have been submitted to the database are available in PDF also. If you should come across a document that does not have a PDF, you may purchase a copy or request it through interlibrary loan (ILLiad).