Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most major galleries and museums provide searchable access to catalogues and databases of their collections. Search for the title of the gallery or museum and look for links to their catalogues/databases.
Tokyo National Museum
The oldest and largest museum in Japan
Huntington Archive Collection of Digital Images
This collection contains nearly 300,000 oringal slides and photographs dating from 2500 B.C.E to present.
Islamic Art at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Here is housed one of the most significant collections of Islamic art in the world. The collection comprises more than 1,700 works, of which some 150 examples are on view; these include glazed ceramics, inlaid metalwork, enameled glass, carved wood and stone, and manuscript illustrations illumination, and calligraphy.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met has a permanent collection containing more than two million works of art, , with extensive holdings of African, Asian, Oceanic, Byzantine, and Islamic art.
Art Institute of Chicago
Its diverse holdings also include significant Old Master works, American art, European and American decorative arts, Asian art and modern and contemporary art.
Google Art Project
Explore museums from around the world.
The Suzhou Museum is a museum of ancient Chinese art. Chinese-American Architect I.M. Ping design the museum building and it opened in 2006.
Web Gateways to Art History
Wood block, Ming dynasty
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of art from around the world.
Art History Resources
An enormous website operating since 1995 and still updated.
Smithsonian Collection Search Center
A one-stop center of Smithsonian images, videos, sound files and archives.
A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.