Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Welcome to the Art History resource guide! Use this guide to find books, articles, images, and other resources about Art History.
The University of St. Thomas Libraries have a wealth of information in print and online about artists and their art. Please contact me if you have need help with your research or to add suggestions to this guide.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The most exhaustive background source for art research. Encyclopedias, dictionaries, the Grove Dictionary of Art and several other resources. Includes extensive image archives from several major North American museums. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of more than 1 million images, covering many time periods, cultures and disciplines. Users can search, view and download images.
Oxford Bibliographies - Art History
Oxford Bibliographies Art History is a guide to scholarly literature in the field, covers major categories of research with bibliographies and recommended resources. Articles are written by established scholars.
Oxford Bibliographies - Chinese Studies
Chinese Studies - covers the study of China across all disciplines and provides a guide to key works and important scholarship in English as well as in Chinese and Japanese languages.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China
The people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biography in Context includes over 700,000 biographical entries covering more than 400,000 notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The African American Studies Center contains brief articles on all aspects of the African-American experience along with images, primary sources, time lines, maps, tables, and reference resources.
Companion to African American History
Covers a wide range of subjects from the seventeenth century to the present day.
Oxford Encyclopedia of MesoAmerican Cultures
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures chronicles Pre-Hispanic, colonial, and modern Mesoamerica, defined as the lands stretching from Mexico to the southern tip of Central America.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
The encyclopedia offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology
Entries on human fossils, historical sites, geographical areas, and the people, history, theory, and substance of archaeology.
Background Information--In Print
Subjects: Aerospace Studies
, Art History
, Catholic Studies
, Computer & Information Sciences