Research and Course Guides: International Education: A Research Guide: Finding Country Information

Seeing the World Differently

Canadian Connections

Canada is our northern neighbor, but does not have a federal department of education. Here are several links to provincial departments of education. There are many curriculum and teaching resources here.

Sources for Country Information

Here are some sources for locating general background information about other countries. Generally, they will have facts and data about the government, economy, education system, culture, geography, etc. The first group are online sources. The second includes reference sources located in one or more St. Thomas library.

Political Handbook of the World
Contains detailed country profiles, chronicles of national history, government, and political parties, as well as information on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and specialized bodies of the United Nations.

World Factbook
Produced by the CIA, each country's profile includes such information as demographics, and political, economic, and geographic data.
Country Studies from the Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Eurypedia (Encyclopedia of European Education Systems)
Eurypedia offers comprehensive descriptions of 38 European education systems, usually at national level, but sometimes also at regional level. All information is available in English with some national information available in the language of the country or region concerned. Aiming at providing the most accurate picture of education systems and latest reforms in Europe, Eurypedia is a resource tool which is regularly updated and completed by the Eurydice Network and its National Units.

Printed Sources

International Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: E-book, username and password required for access
Publication Date: 2010
This online encyclopedia includes profiles for approximately 100 countries.
International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems
Call Number: E-book, username and password required
Publication Date: 2012
You will need your UST username and password to gain access to this title. This encyclopedia provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 150 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
It includes a special section for countries that were once part of the Soviet Union.

Contact me for assistance

Conrad Woxland

he/him/his

Contact:

conrad.woxland@stthomas.edu
O'Shaughnessy-Frey | LIB 114

651-962-4662

Subjects: Education, Psychology