IBISWorld Industry Market Research Reports provide in-depth industry analysis for 700+ U.S. industries and hundreds of international industries. Searchable by keyword, company name, and NAICS codes. Reports average 25-30 pages and contain key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry performance, key competitors, key factors, and industry outlook. UST’s subscription also includes industry-level coverage of U.S. states, Canada, China, and Global reports. Restricted to current UST students, faculty, and staff only.
Even on campus you must login with UST username and password.
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system in 1997; it's a 5- or 6-digit number. You can search by keyword, and there are tables to convert from NAICS to SIC, and SIC to NAICS. The NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to compare statistics about business activity across North America.
The U.S. government classified business activity according to the SIC system until the adoption of NAICS in 1997. It's searchable by code or by keyword. Some business sources still feature SIC code search options.