Research and Course Guides: +Chemistry Resources: Getting Started

ChemSpider

ChemSpider Free Chemical Database
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Periodic Table Resources

Periodical Table of the Elements Online
A one-stop site for data on every element.
RSC's Interactive Periodic Table
The Royal Society of Chemistry's interactive periodic table features history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table.
TED-Ed Periodic Videos
A lesson about every single element on the periodic table, created by the Periodic Videos team using the TED-Ed platform.

LibrarySearch

Reference Resources

Don't forget about reference materials! Items such as encyclopedias and dictionaries can be an excellent starting point for your research. In addition to offering reliable background information on issues and topics in your area of interest, they can also help you find a research topic.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Online reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and many more.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 16th Ed.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Provides concise, condensed, and prompt definitions of terms and phenomena in chemistry, biology, biochemistry, and more. Is ideal for those with only minutes to devote to any given chemical substance or topic.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Call Number: UST-OSF Reference - QD148 .E53 1994
Examines the six major areas of inorganic chemistry: physical and theoretical methods, organometallic chemistry, main group elements, solid state chemistry, transition metals and bioinorganic chemistry.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference contains full text dictionaries and encyclopedias from the Oxford University Press. It is easy to search and contains entries on a wide array of topics from business, computing and environmental science to art, biology, literature, religion, and political science.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, web sites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips and video clips. Includes ability to limit by lexile reading levels.

Associate Director | Research, Education & Engagement

Karen Brunner

Email Me

Contact:

O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library |
Room 118

651-962-5011

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Environmental, Geography, Geology, Health and Exercise Science, Justice & Peace Studies, Nursing, Nutrition, Sustainability

Ask a Librarian

Chat with us during library reference hours using the chat in the lower right corner of this page, or visit Ask a Librarian.