Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

+Chemistry Resources: Finding Handbooks

This is a guide to research resources in the field of chemistry. It will lead you to databases with helpful journal articles, books, and websites.

Why use handbooks?

Chemical handbooks are the experimental chemist's most important resource. They contain practical guidelines on chemical methods or techniques and various properties of chemical compounds.

Common types of chemical handbooks:     

Reaction and Synthesis Guides describe preparations of individual compounds, applications of particular reagents, or general reaction/synthesis methods. The content is grouped by type of reaction, type of starting material, or type of product. These are most useful if you're trying to find out how a certain material is made or how a particular reaction works.

Analytical Methods Guides deal with specific or general analytical chemistry techniques, grouped by analyte, matrix, or method.

Comprehensive Works are usually an ongoing series attempting to summarize all of a given area of chemistry. Good examples include the Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, and the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry.

Other chemical handbooks provide spectral information on compounds (e.g. infrared spectra, nuclear magnetic resonance spectra, etc.).  Examples are the Aldrich Index of FT-IR Spectra and the Aldrich Index of FT-NMR Spectra.  These would come in useful if you had spectral data from your own research and were trying to identify a compound you've synthesized.

Online Handbooks

Key Print Handbooks

Research Librarian

Profile Photo
Karen Brunner
NOTE: I work from home on Wednesdays. Email is the best way to reach me. I am happy to meet via Zoom. Phone messages are sent to my email.
Contact:
O'Shaughnessy-Frey Library
Room 115
651-962-5011