Research and Course Guides: +Chemistry Resources: Finding Articles

SciFinder Scholar

SciFinder-n provides easy access to information in Chemical Abstracts Services resources: journal citations and abstracts, substance data, chemical reactions, regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature. Register below for an individual account.

Tutorials and webinars covering a wide variety of SciFinder tools and searches are available online at any time!

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
If you already have an account created, log in to SciFinder here.
First-time users: You must first register an individual account by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).
If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.

SciFinder Registration
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, you MUST use your UST email address).

Chemistry Databases

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of over 70 publications from the American Chemical Society.
Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Current full-text coverage for five RSC journals: Chemical Communications, Chemical Society Review, Dalton Transactions, Organ Biomolecular Chemistry and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics. Also includes selected full-text articles from another small group of RSC publications.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Easy access to full-text science content including encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, websites, pictures, illustrations, audio clips, and video clips.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus user guide

LibrarySearch

Major Journals

Nature Magazine
Nature is a prominent interdisciplinary scientific journal first published in 1869. It is one of the few remaining academic journals that publish original research across a wide range of scientific fields.
Nature Chemistry
Nature Chemistry is a monthly journal dedicated to publishing high-quality papers that describe the most significant and cutting-edge research in all areas of chemistry.
Science Magazine
The major focus of Science is publishing important original scientific research and research reviews, but Science also publishes science-related news, opinions on science policy and other matters of interest to scientists and others who are concerned with the wide implications of science and technology.

Interlibrary Loan Services

Use interlibrary loan to order articles and books that are not available in the St. Thomas Libraries system. Most journal articles will be delivered via e-mail within a day or two.

UST Interlibrary Loan Services