Research and Course Guides: +Geology Resources: Searching for sources: Peer reviewed articles

LibrarySearch

Finding Articles

Geology Databases

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, from the American Geological Institute, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences - it contains over 3.2 million abstracts for geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to high-quality journals and journal articles in the geosciences, including publications from the American Geological Institute and the Geological Society of America.

Review Articles

Review articles are indexed in the databases listed above, but we also have a subscription to a journal package called "Annual Reviews". These are scholarly, peer-reviewed journals that only publish review articles.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for scientific disciplines, including biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Citation Database

The Scopus database covers scholarly research in all disciplines and it allows you to do citation searching to see who has cited an article. This can be very helpful in finding more recent research on a topic. It can also help you identify articles that have been cited many times (and thus, are likely to be influential articles).

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus calls itself the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: over 21,500 scientific journals, 130,000 books and conference proceedings, covering all fields of academic study: science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also includes 8 different citation metrics, analyzing impact at the author, article, journal, and institution levels.
Scopus vendor guide is here: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus/home.

Related and Interdisciplinary Databases

Sometimes your topic may require finding articles in related fields. These are some good databases to start with.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier covers a broad range of topics, so it can be very helpful if you're looking for interdisciplinary research.
Expanded content and coverage replacing Academic Search Premier.
SciFinder-N This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is the main chemistry database.

Before logging in for the first time, you must register for an individual account. If you have already registered for Classic SciFinder, that login should work for SciFinder-n.
For use of UST faculty, staff and students ONLY. You must first REGISTER by creating your own unique SciFinder username and password (when registering, use your UST email address).
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Articles from scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
BioOne provides full-text access to both current and archival "bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today’s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation."
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and trade publications on science, engineering & technology.
Materials Science and Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Featuring content from 1962 to present, the database supports materials science research, covering topics such as metals, polymers, ceramics, composites, and biomaterials dealing with areas such as corrosion, molding and casting, treatment, recycling, testing, finishing, welding, and forming. Coverage includes scholarly journals, conference papers and proceedings, books, dissertations and theses, government publications, magazines, newspapers and other sources.