Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new window
Our primary theology and religion index, with over 470 titles in full text out of over 2,250 titles indexed, primarily academic journal articles, books, review, and essays: international in scope. Includes the contents of the Catholic Periodical and Literature Index. Produced by the American Theological Library Association.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Advanced tool. Abstracts (short summaries) from over 500 academic journals about field of New Testament studies; international scope. Also abstracts books on related topics. Limited subject and/or citation searching.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Advanced tool. Abstracts (short summaries) from over 500 academic journals about field of Old Testament studies; international scope. Also abstracts books on related topics. Limited subject and/or citation searching.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat, the OCLC Online Union Catalog, contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access ebooks and scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and the social sciences. Journal content is often not available until 1+ years after publication.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides online access to a large selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and ebooks.
Philosophy Documentation Center (Formerly POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials) This link opens in a new window
Searchable access to the full text of St Thomas-subscribed philosophy journals, plus indexing to dozens more. Formerly called POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Now with over 200 full-text titles, the renowned philosophy index offers even more for undergraduates, graduate students and researchers. International in scope, The Philosopher’s Index with Full Text offers content from 139 countries. It provides full-text journals published in the United States and Britain as well as in 27 other countries.
Google Book Search This link opens in a new window
Google Books is an index of full-text books and magazines that Google has digitized. Materials are provided by publishers, authors, and partnering libraries through various Google programs. You can view the full-text of books in the public domain. For materials that have been digitized but still remain protected under copyright, Google often provides previews.
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that
indexes the full text of scholarly literature (journals) across an array
of publishing formats and disciplines. It includes most peer-reviewed
online journals. Use FIND IT@UST Libraries to get the full-text if not available in Google Scholar.
With very few exceptions, UST Libraries resources are available from off-campus. You will be asked to enter your UST username/password. This is the username you use for your UST email, not your Banner ID.
Why use periodicals?
Periodicals are useful for three primary reasons: they...
- provide a wealth of valuable information that is current and timely
- contain the latest discussions on a topic
- cover topics not yet published in book form
Periodicals are created for different audiences. Some are for general readers and others for scholars and researchers.
Although the terms periodical, journal, serial and magazine have
slightly different definitions, you will likely hear them used
interchangeably. These are works that come out on a regular basis
(weekly, monthly, annually) and contain articles written by various
Peer Reviewed Articles
Scholarly peer review (also known as refereeing) is the process of subjecting an author's scholarly work, research, or ideas to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field, before a paper describing this work is published in a journal.There are anonymous and open reviews.
Search Strategy using Keywords
1) Determine the Key concepts of your topic
2) Define your key words / search terms.
3) Choose your databases and resources
4) Formulate the search statement
5) Refine and focus your results
6) Evaluate and manage the results
7) Locate the full articles
Skip the words "a" "of" and "the"
Single key word, e.g. Transfiguration
Phrase search - when two or more terms are always used together, put them in quotes e.g. "New Testament"
Very broad term = a single term, e.g. Scriptures
Broader yet = add the term "or" between synonyms, e.g., Scriptures or Bible
More refined = add the term "and" between terms to focus your topic, e.g. Gospel and Luke and Emmaus
More refined = use "not", e.g., Mary not Magdalene
Fuente academica [electronic resource].
Fuente Acadmica provides full text (including PDF) for a rapidly growing collection of scholarly Spanish language journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology.
See also Spanish Language LibGuide
by Cindy Badilla-Melendez, Library Liaison for Modern Languages. This guide is intended to assist you as you learn about and research the Spanish language, as well as Spanish culture and literature.
Informe Academico by
A multidisciplinary collection of over 470 publications. The majority of the publications are in Spanish.