It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide covers many of the most useful resources in theology and religion, with suggestions for finding backgrounds, books, and articles for your course work. The emphasis in this guide is on Christian theology, and more
specifically on Catholic theology. Use the tabs above to explore the many resources available to you.
Remember that in the case of religion,
recent publication dates do not necessarily mean that the content is
"inferior" or "insignificant."
This selection of writings from the most important moments in the history of Christianity has become established as a classic reference work, providing insights into 2000 years of Christian theological and political debate. While retaining the original material selected by Henry Bettenson, Chris Maunder has added a substantial section of more recent writings. These illustrate the Second Vatican Council; the theologies of liberation; Church and State from 'Thatcher's Britain' to Communist Eastern Europe; Black, feminist, and ecological theology; ecumenism; and inter-faith dialogue. The emphasis on moral debate in the contemporary churches is reflected in selections discussing questions about homosexuality, divorce, AIDS, and in-vitro fertilization, amongst other issues. This further expanded fourth edition brings the anthology up-to-date with a new section looking at issues facing the twenty-first century churches. This includes extracts exploring the churches' responses to questions of social justice, international politics, trade and debt, environmental change, and technological development. New material also covers the global growth of Christianity, the progress of Christian unity, and mission in multi-faith and postmodern societies.
Online databases and electronic journals subscribed to by the UST
Libraries are licensed for use by the St. Thomas community ONLY.
Because of this restriction, we need to verify that anyone accessing
these databases is a current member of the St. Thomas community.
Located on St. Paul's South Campus, Archbishop Ireland Memorial Library is the graduate theology library of UST and the Saint Paul Seminary School of Divinity. It serves seminarians and lay students in graduate and continuing education programs, UST undergraduates, and archdiocesan parish professionals. Click on blue hyperlink below.
Fuente Acadmica provides full text (including PDF) for a rapidly growing collection of scholarly Spanish language journals. This multi-disciplinary database offers full text content to many academic areas including business & economics, medical sciences, political science, law, computer science, library & information sciences, literature, linguistics, history, philosophy and theology.