Research and Course Guides: ENTR 340: Social Entrepreneurship: Minnesota Information and Demographics

Demographic data from library databases

Quality demographic information is important in doing business research. Organizations need to understand their customers and prospective customers in order to supply them with the right products and services, and to reach them via their preferred media. There are many resources available to help you learn about consumers and their behaviors, attitudes, and opinions.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Individual statistics are usually displayed as a graph and the underlying data is downloadable in Excel. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use SimplyAnalytics to create thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables for the U.S. Use it when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code. Create a free personal account to save your work or sign in as a guest.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel provides market research reports covering U.S. consumer markets. Sectors covered include consumer goods, travel and tourism, retail, and financial services. The reports analyze market drivers, market sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new window
These handbooks focus on various consumer-related markets. Each one includes market forecasts, sector trends, and statistics. Handbooks include Business-to-Business Marketing; Consumer Behavior; Consumer Marketing & Advertising; Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile; Entertainment & Leisure; Restaurant, Food & Beverage; Retail & E-Commerce; Sports Marketing; and Travel & Tourism.

Minnesota Stats--Electronic

Minnesota OpenData
The purpose of MN.gov/data is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of State Government including public health, the trades, technology, and the environment.
Minnesota Quick Facts
Data from the U.S. Census about Minnesota. Includes quick facts about the population, about business, and about geography.
Minnesota Economy at A Glance
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics presents general labor force data, plus wage and employment stats for individual industries(e.g. mining, manufacturing, construction, information, etc.
State Master
A large variety of facts and figures on over 25 topics--including crime, housing, immigration, and life style.
Minnesota Center for Health Statistics
Collects and analyses health-related data; designsand implements public health surveys; coordinates ealth data collection efforts at the state and local level; provides technical assistance and consultation.
Minnesota Education Statistics_MDE Data Center
Data for parents, educators, and school districts