Research and Course Guides: JPST 250 Intro. to Justice and Peace (Brekke): Essay 1: Impact data: prevalence, disparities

Statistical data

In addition to these selected sources, our Datasets and Statistics guide contains links to a wide variety of sources for current statistics as well as historical data sets for Minnesota, the United States and the world.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc.. Charts can be downloaded in multiple formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Cross National Time Series (CNTS) Data Archive This link opens in a new window
CNTS contains annual time series data on 196 political, economic, and business variables from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries. Also includes domestic conflict event data on terrorism and guerrilla warfare, assassinations, revolutions, etc., with links to web articles describing the events. Download the entire dataset in Excel, with separate files for the event links and data documentation.
CNTSDATA.xlsx is the main dataset file. The Events Data LINKS files are separate by year. Be sure to consult the User Manual and the Codebook for data definitions and usage tips.

Our World in Data
NEW SOURCE! Data dedicated to a large range of global social problems .Coverage is global but the primary focus is the living conditions of the worst-off. The staff relies on a global community of scholars and presents the best available research and data in an understandable and accessible way.

Government statistics by regional provider

UN Data
The most effective searching is to drill down through the Datamarts to find the most pertinent UN agency and report.
International Data Base
Compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau, these tables can be used to create county comparisons.

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
This resource is the first place to go when trying to locate statistical information.
It provides tables with statistics in many different areas, and includes links to
original source data to help locate related data. Earlier editions are also available.
Covers 1970-present.

Minnesota State Demographic Center

Public interest organizations or governmental agencies

Type your human rights topic into Google and add site:org to uncover organizations ( global, U.S..or local) which provide information and advocate for change on your topic or add site: gov to determine which government agencies have jurisdiction.

The organizations listed below provide coverage of multiple issues.

Human Rights Watch
Independent organization presenting news,background, statistics, and actions for a wide variety of hument rights issues worlwide.
United Nations - Human Rights
As the world’s only truly universal global organization, the United Nations has become the foremost forum to address issues that transcend national boundaries and cannot be resolved by any one country acting alone.To its initial goals of safeguarding peace, protecting human rights, establishing the framework for international justice and promoting economic and social progress, in the seven decades since its creation the United Nations has added on new challenges, such as AIDS, big data and climate change.
25 International Rights Organizations