Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why is this a human rights issue?
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace
Survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. Major figures and events are covered, organizations, theories. Includes a time line.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history.
Encyclopedia of Global Justice by
Publication Date: 2011
The Encyclopedia is an international, interdisciplinary, and collaborative project, spanning all the relevant areas of scholarship related to issues of global justice, and edited and advised by leading scholars from around the world.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by
Publication Date: 2008
This Encyclopedia is an essential reference for students and scholars working in the field of peace and conflict resolution studies, and for those seeking to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and social change. Covering topics as diverse as Arms Control, Peace Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, Terrorism and Political Assassinations, the Encyclopedia comprehensively addresses an extensive information area in 225 multi-disciplinary, cross-referenced and authoritatively authored articles.
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by
Publication Date: 2010
This innovative, multivolume encyclopedia charts the interdisciplinary field of Peace Studies, offering a comprehensive survey of the full range of historical, political, theoretical and philosophical issues relating to peace and conflict. All major figures are covered, as well as major events, organizations, theories, and much more.
Organizations and government agencies
Non-governmental organizations, non-profits and government agencies are great sources for background information, statistical reports, current perspectives and personal stories on a topic.
On Google, search for your topic along with either site.org or site.gov.
Try these organizations if you are having trouble finding stories:
Search by country for human rights information.
Human Rights Watch
Go to "Regions" and then look for specific country for reports on human rights issues.
U.S. Department of State
Go to Policy Issues section.
United Nations Human Rights Council - countries section
Click on the appropriate region in the world map, then choose a country. Once on the country's page, choose Recent News in the upper left corner of the page.