Research and Course Guides: Catholic Social Teaching: Reference Sources

Reference

Encyclopedia of violence, peace, & conflict [electronic resource] /
ISBN: 0123739853
Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy. Treaties and other documents from 18th Century to today.
Encyclopedia of social work [electronic resource]
Published by the NASW both online and in print-- the most authoritative reference of its kind.

Why use these?

Background sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries can give you an overview of a topic, and provide summary and factual information.

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

CRRA's "Catholic News Archive"
An ongoing, searchable, digital collection of 1,000s of historic North American Catholic newspapers, including “The Catholic Worker.” Provided by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance.

CQ Researcher
Political scientists, journalists & economics researchers are going to find original information on health care, criminal justice, political and social trends, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Each report includes an overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.

Looking for general information about a particlar subject or person? These library resources are a great place to start!

Gale Biography in Context (Online)
Offers biographical information on thousands of significant people

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Use for quick look ups. Oxford Reference Online contains dictionaries, encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions on a wide variety of topics. Brief entries and information about art, biology, business, classics, computing, environmental science, economics, history, language, law, literature, medicine, physical science, political science, quotations, religion and philosophy, and science.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias and dictionaries.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Articles, journals, and books published by Wiley across a variety of disciplines.

Cesar Chavez, Coretta Scott King & Dorothy Day; February 1973; photographer unknown.

This database connects international human rights documents to Catholic Social Teaching.

The Documents of the Christian Church by Henry Bettenson (Editor); Chris Maunder (Editor)
ISBN: 0199568987
Publication Date: 4th ed. 2011
This selection of writings from the most important moments in the history of Christianity has become established as a classic reference work, providing insights into 2000 years of Christian theological and political debate. While retaining the original material selected by Henry Bettenson, Chris Maunder has added a substantial section of more recent writings. These illustrate the Second Vatican Council; the theologies of liberation; Church and State from 'Thatcher's Britain' to Communist Eastern Europe; Black, feminist, and ecological theology; ecumenism; and inter-faith dialogue. The emphasis on moral debate in the contemporary churches is reflected in selections discussing questions about homosexuality, divorce, AIDS, and in-vitro fertilization, amongst other issues. This further expanded fourth edition brings the anthology up-to-date with a new section looking at issues facing the twenty-first century churches. This includes extracts exploring the churches' responses to questions of social justice, international politics, trade and debt, environmental change, and technological development. New material also covers the global growth of Christianity, the progress of Christian unity, and mission in multi-faith and postmodern societies.