Research and Course Guides: Business Resources for Exporters: Demographics/Statistics

Africa/Middle East

Africa: Official Statistics for Region (OFFSTATS)
Links from OFFSTATS for international and regional statistical sources.
Middle East: Official Statistics for Region (OFFSTATS)
Links from OFFSTATS for international and regional statistical sources.

American Factfinder
Source for U.S. population, housing, economic, and geographic data. From the U.S. Census Bureau.
Statistics Canada
Canada's national statistics agency. Data on population, the economy, society, and culture.
CEPALSTAT
Gateway to statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries. From the U.N.'s Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC.)
Latinobarometro
Annual public opinion survey in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants.

Passport This link opens in a new window
Analysis, reports, data, and news for U.S. and international industries, companies and brands, consumers, and economies.
Passport user guide

International Database
The U.S. Census Bureau provides this data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
From the International Monetary Fund (IMF), international financial data and macroeconomic indicators including measures of money supply, exchange rates, trade/balance of payments, prices/inflation, interest rates, employment, and national income & product accounts.

OFFSTATS
Links to country web sites for statistics, as well as data from the United Nations and other organizations.
Background Notes
Provides information on the history, economy, foreign relations, political conditions, and government for over 190 countries.
United Nations Statistics
Global statistical information
World Bank Countries & Regions
Includes country profiles, statistics, and general reports.
World Development Report
World Development Indicators (the statistical portion) presents selected social, economic, and demographic data on 180 countries. This report is published by the World Bank on a different topic each year.
FAOSTAT
Data on food and agriculture for 200+ countries. From the Unided Nation's Food and Agricultural Organization.
UN ComTrade
International merchandise trade statistics from the United Nations.
Transparency International
Measures corruption worldwide using tools such as the Corruption Perception Index, the Bribe Payers Index, and the Global Corruption Barometer.

Asia: Official Statistics for Region (OFFSTATS)
Links from OFFSTATS for international and regional statistical sources.
Pacific: Official Statistics for Region (OFFSTATS)
Links from OFFSTATS for international and regional statistical sources.
National Bureau of Statistics of China
Comprehensive monthly, quarterly, and yearly statistical data. Also contains information on the country's statistical standards, agency information, laws, and regulations.

OECD Publications This link opens in a new window
Reports, policy papers, and briefs published by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

OECD (Organisation for Economic Development and Trade)
Provides economic statistics and reports for the organization and its member countries. News releases and working papers are available for free.
Europa
European Union portal site. Contains information about the governing body and member nations such as statistics, opinion polls, financial and advisory boards, links to institutions, and current legislation.
European Commission Public Opinion
The European Commission monitors the evolution of public opinion of the member states. Includes surveys, studies, and opinion polls.