Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Operating a Business
Before exporting a product or starting a business in another country, investigate the business policies and costs of doing business in that country.
Export.gov's Information for Exporters
Choose a country to see specific information on doing business in that country, including leading sectors and trade regulations.
Country Commercial Guides
Written by U.S. Embassy trade experts worldwide, these are an excellent starting point for everything you need to know about exporting and doing business overseas. From Export.gov.
Government site to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies.
Export.gov Market Research
Market information from the U.S. government's Export.gov, including links to the Country Commercial Guides.
Doing Business Database
Ratings of the business environment in 180+ countries and cities covering the difficulty of hiring and firing workers, starting a business, getting credit, enforcing contracts, and closing a business. Published by the World Bank.
Political Risk Yearbook
Provides 45-65 page overviews of the history, economy, politics, and risk forecasts for 100 countries. It provides 10 years of economic data, with description and analysis of the political players and situation written by experts.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides the full text of more than 2 thousand business publications, including more than 1,000 peer reviewed journals. It is a comprehensive database that covers all disciplines of business including management, finance, marketing and international trade. It also contains company, industry and country reports, SWOTs and market research reports.
Global Indicators Group
Data from the World Bank's Global Indicators Group supports private sector-led growth and financial markets in over 190 developing countries.
Deloitte International Tax and Business Guides
Information on taxation and other business conditions for 120+ countries and jurisdictions.
KPMG's Competitive Alternatives
KPMG's guide for comparing business locations and costs in North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific.
Market Research Library (U.S. Commercial Service)
Searchable database of market research reports from the U.S. Commercial Service, including the Country Commercial Guides. Choose a country from the drop down menu. Contains reports that present a comprehensive look at all aspects of doing business in another country, including the Leading Sectors, Trade Regulations, and Market Research. You need to register to use the country and industry market reports.
Marianne Hageman (St. Paul)
John Heintz (Mpls. & St. Paul)
Andrea Koeppe (Mpls.)
During the COVID-19 Outbreak we will be working from home, but we are still available for research questions and consultations. You can email us to get in touch!