Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best UST owned reference resources for information on the U.S. government.
Encyclopedia of Political Science
"...political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world." (part of Gale Virtual Reference Library).
Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right (2005)
"...articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles" organized by ideologically "left" and "right" (part of Gale Virtual Reference Library).
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History
"...key events, historical actors, presidential elections, court cases, and larger political and legal trends throughout American history."
Oxford Guide to the United States Government
"...key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years."
The Oxford Handbook of the American Congress
Everything you've ever wanted to know about the US Congress. Basic resource for political science students and journalism students. Includes studies, observations and legal descriptions.
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies explore more than 800 timely, in-depth, and objective articles on topics such as politics, government, business, education, and popular culture. It is updated weekly and provides links to a 13-year backfile. Also included are links to news coverage, pros and cons statements, timelines, statistics, etc.
Points of View Reference Center
A full-text database providing essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview, point,counterpoint,and a Critical Thinking Guide. It contains materials from all viewpoints, including main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Latest news, activities, speeches, press releases, schedules for the President and White House staff. Note: this is not a non-partisan source.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The 2012 edition is the last published by the U.S. Bureau of the Census