Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About OSF & Keffer Libraries
2115 Summit Ave, St. Paul, MN 55105
Directions & Parking
Charles J. Keffer Library
MOH 206, 1000 LaSalle Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55403
Directions & Parking
General Business Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are great for quick definitions, getting up to speed on concepts, finding citations for further reading, and browsing for paper topic selection. Add them to your research process.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Management (3rd Ed.)
A comprehensive 13 vol. business encyclopedia covering: Accounting, Business Ethics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management Information Systems, Managerial Economics, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behavior, Strategic Management, Technology and Innovation Management, plus an index. Articles arranged alphabetically within subject volumes; they contain good background information on the listed topic plus a bibliography for further reading
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. Articles are written by an international array of experts in the area. It includes over 1800 entries including key concepts, introductions to sociological theories and research, and extensive bibliographies for each article. It is regularly updated.
BUSINESS: The Ultimate Resource - Dictionary of Business and Management (CREDO)
Provides clear definitions to international business and management terms, abbreviations, and acronyms
Capstone Encyclopaedia of Business (CREDO)
Organized alphabetically into entries covering the whole spectrum of business and management, including business terms, concepts, thinkers, practitioners, organizations, brands and companies.
Collins Dictionary of Business (CREDO)
Covers all the main areas of business theory and practice: marketing, production, finance, personnel, business policy and international business. Comprehensive coverage of everyday business terms such as cash flow and patent, and such increasingly quoted terms as hedge funds.
Dictionary of Business (CREDO)
Contains basic business terms that cover all aspects of business life from the office to the stock exchange and international trade fairs. The vocabulary covers all aspects of everyday business usage: office practice, buying and selling, banking, insurance, stock exchange, warehousing and distribution.
Dictionary of Statistics (Oxford Reference)
This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary covers all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, plus biographical information on key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals & societies. It embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, and will be invaluable for users from a wide range of disciplines, including politics, market research, medicine, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics.
Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
Spans the relationships among business, ethics, and society by including numerous entries that feature broad coverage of corporate social responsibility, the obligation of companies to various stakeholder groups, the contribution of business to society and culture, and the relationship between organizations and the quality of the environment.
Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods
Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses. Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, 2nd ed.
Features 470 essays on topics related to the world of e-commerce; covers significant events, case studies, and legal issues important to understanding the current e-commerce environment.
International Directory Of Business Biographies
Examines the career paths, business achievements, leadership styles, business strategies and industry impact of Fortune 500 and Global 500 corporate leaders, as well as entrepreneurs and other notable businesspeople through in-depth biographical narratives. Part of Gale Virtual Reference Library.
International Directory of Company Histories
In-depth (3-4 page) articles on the history and development of thousands of the world's largest and most influential companies. Cumulative chronological treatment, with periodic updates of individual company profiles.
New Penguin Business Dictionary (CREDO)
This dictionary should prove useful for those pursuing business courses and for those who need to get to grips with the jargon of the business and management world. It covers all aspects of business from accounting through marketing and organizational behaviour to human resource management.
Ultimate Business Library, Wiley (CREDO)
A one-stop guide to the world's leading business thinkers. It is a unique summary of those books which have had the most significant impact on management thinking, drawing out the lessons any business can learn.
Wall Street Words (CREDO)
An essential guide to the words spoken on "the Street". Covers everything from investment fundamentals to the sophisticated terminology of contemporary finance, plus case studies illustrating real-world investment examples and 50 insightful tips from industry professionals.
Oxford Handbook of Business and Government
This handbook provides an authoritative overview by leading authorities on the current state of knowledge of business-government relations, but also points to ways in which this work might be developed in the future, through a political theory of the firm.
Oxford Handbook of Business Groups
This Handbook provides a comprehensive analysis of business groups around the world. It examines the adaptive and competitive capabilities of business groups, and their evolutionary dynamics. 16 individual country chapters deal with business groups from Asia to Africa, the Middle East to Latin America, while overarching chapters consider the historical and theoretical context of business groups.
Oxford Handbook of Business History
The Oxford Handbook of Business History provides a comprehensive examination of business history organized into four parts: Approaches and Debates; Forms of Business Organization; Functions of Enterprise; and Enterprise and Society. It shows business as a dynamic area of study, generating compelling empirical data, which has sometimes confirmed and sometimes contested widely-held views in management and the social sciences.
Oxford Handbook of Comparative Institutional Analysis
The Handbook of Comparative Institutional Analysis examines how institutional contexts affect the nature and behaviour of firms, the operation of markets, and economic outcomes. Yet 'institutions' conceal a multitude of issues and perspectives. Much of this research has been comparative, and followed different models such as 'varieties of capitalism', 'national business systems', and 'social systems of production'
Oxford Handbook of Information and Communication Technologies
The Handbook of Information and Communication Technologies explores the influence and implications ICT’s have at a macro level in the governments, economies, and way businesses operate. This handbook is about the many challenges presented by ICTs,and examines ICTs for individuals, organizations, democracy, and the economy. and consumption
Oxford Handbook of Innovation
This handbook looks to provide students with a comprehensive and holistic understanding of innovation
spanning over a number of fields within the social sciences and humanities: Management, Economics, Geography, Sociology, Politics, Psychology, and History.
Oxford Handbook of Regulation
The Handbook of Regulation provides a clear discussion of the major trends and issues in regulation over the last thirty years, together with an outline of prospective developments, in a field that is often believed to bring about the undesireable effects of settings rules and limits.
Oxford Handbook of Sociology and Organization Studies
The Handbook of Organization Studies emphasis the importance of classical sociology to the future of Organization Studies. Putting the field of Organization Studies in context, proving its impacts on companies, and exploring future research and opportunities in the field.
Oxford Handbook of Work and Organization
The Handbook of Work and Organization explores what is known about work and organizations in connection to a broader economic change in the Western Cultureby an emphasis on what is known and has been observed by researchers.
Marianne Hageman (St. Paul)
John Heintz (Mpls. & St. Paul)
Andrea Koeppe (Mpls.)
During the COVID-19 Outbreak we will be working from home, but we are still available for research questions and consultations. You can email us to get in touch!