Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In this guide, you'll find resources for doing research for the course, STCM 344: Writing for Strategic Communication. The UST libraries offer resources that you can use to find the following:
- Industry/category information
- Demographic information about consumers
- Current news articles
CDC Links: Spring 2021
Building Confidence in COVID-19 Vaccines (CDC)
Strategies and recommendations to build confidence in COVID-19 vaccines, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC.)
COVID-19 Vaccines (CDC)
Q&A, tips, and resources on COVID-19 vaccines, from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC.)
Vaccine Information and Safety Studies (CDC)
"As vaccines are developed and become available, the public’s knowledge of their safety, both initially and during extended use, is an important part of a successful national vaccination effort." From the Centers for Disease Control (CDC.)
ProQuest US Newsstream, including Star Tribune
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, along with national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Star Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and Chicago Tribune.
Access World News
This database contains electronic editions of thousands of local, national and international newspapers, along with broadcast transcripts and college and university news. It also includes the St. Paul Pioneer Press and the Star Tribune.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start your research, Academic Search Premier provides full text for scholarly publications and peer-reviewed journals as well as general interest sources.
Statista is an easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by government sources, scientific publications, market researchers, non-profits, trade organizations, etc. Individual statistics are usually displayed as a chart and the underlying data is downloadable in Excel. Charts can be downloaded in multiple formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations. Search results also display dossiers (topical collections of statistics), infographics, country, industry, and some company reports. Results also available in French, German, and Spanish.
Professional reference service is available via phone, e-mail, and in-person at both the St. Paul library. While walk-in service is often available, we recommend that you make an appointment for lengthy consultations or tutorials. Contact me for an appointment.